Huey Lewis And The News – Huey Lewis & The News (1980)

Huey Lewis and the News is the debut album by American rock band Huey Lewis and the News, released in 1980.
In 1979, the band’s name was Huey Lewis and the American Express. Under this name they released a single and secured their recording contract with Chrysalis Records at the end of the year. The album was recorded within three weeks and the producer was Bill Schnee, who had produced for Boz Scaggs and Pablo Cruise.
Chrysalis did not like the addition ‘American Express’ to the band’s name, fearing that the credit card company of the same name could sue the In January 1980, just prior to the release of their debut album, the band changed their name to ‘Huey Lewis and the News’.
On June 25, 1980, the band released their first album, the self-titled LP Huey Lewis and the News. Though not a commercial success on a national level (reaching No. 203 on the Billboard album chart), the album helped to enlarge the band’s local following in the San Francisco Bay Area.
On their eponymous debut, Huey Lewis and the News essentially act as a pub rock band, turning out hard-driving covers and originals in a workmanlike fashion. While that usually makes for great club gigs, it only occasionally makes for great records, and the debut suffers from an uneven selection of material and a somewhat stiff production, mainly because the group can’t quite reproduce its sound in the studio. Even with such flaws, the album shows signs of promise, particularly in the charging “Some of My Lies Are True (Sooner or Later).”


1.  “Some of My Lies Are True (Sooner or Later)” – 3:23
2.  “Don’t Make Me Do It” – 2:50
3.  “Stop Trying” – 3:31
4.  “Now Here’s You”  (Cipollina, Colla, Gibson, Hayes, Hopper, Lewis, John McFee) – 4:12
5.  “I Want You”  (Brian Marnell) – 2:48
6.  “Don’t Ever Tell Me That You Love Me” – 2:53
7.  “Hearts” – 2:51
8.  “Trouble In Paradise” – 3:11
9.  “Who Cares?” – 3:49
10.  “If You Really Love Me You’ll Let Me” – 1:52

All tracks written by Mario Cipollina, Johnny Colla, Bill Gibson, Chris Hayes, Sean Hopper and Huey Lewis except where noted.


  • Huey Lewisvocals, harmonica
  • Chris Hayes – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Johnny Collarhythm guitar, saxophone, backing vocals
  • Mario Cipollina – bass
  • Bill Gibson – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Sean Hopper – keyboards, backing vocals
  • Bill Schnee – producer, engineer
  • Bill Cooper – assistant engineer
  • Kirk Butler – assistant engineer
  • Tim Dennen – assistant engineer
  • Bill Murphy – design
  • Rod Dyer – design
  • Doug Sax – mixing, mastering
  • Billy Bass – art direction, cover concept
  • Ron Slenzak – photography
  • Chris Welch – liner notes
  • Bob Brown – management
  • Mark Deadman – management
  • John Burnham – management

Released: June 25, 1980
Recorded: December 1979 Studio American Recording, Studio City, Redwing Sound, Los Angeles, Studio 55, Los Angeles
Genre: Rock, pop rock
Length: 31:20

Label – Chrysalis Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s