Blue Man Group – How To Be A Megastar Live (2008)

Blue Man Group is a performance art company formed in 1991. It is best known for its stage productions around the world. It combines many different categories of music and art, both popular and unpopular in these shows.

The Blue Man Group return to their rock concert experience in their latest DVD, captured during their “How to Be a Megastar 2.0” tour. If you already own “The Complex” much of this material will be familiar as it nearly the same format as the group’s previous rock concert tour. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. As in “The Complex,” “How to Be a Megastar” opens with “Above,” which if you’ve seen/heard from “The Complex” you know is simply an amazing song. The concert presentation is exciting, with a screen obscuring the stage and only shadows of the Blue Men projected on the screen as, one by one, each takes to their PVC instruments to begin the melody, with a swirling of images of the band and the Blue Men as the song launches into guitar, drums, keyboards, bass, and percussion in an explosive cresendo. Awesome. The remainder of “How to Be a Megastar” essentially follows the same progression as “The Complex” with some new material and new rock conert movements. The premise of the tour is the Blue Men have purchased an “updated” rock concert experience manual from an infomercial and are incoporating the new material into the show. The band is amazing, as it was before in “The Complex.” I miss the guest vocals of Tracy Bonham and Annette Strean of Venus Hum. Annette was gorgeous and belted out an exciting cover of “I Feel Love” in her unique style in “The Complex” and is replaced on the current tour with a new vocalist. She’s fine, but it’s hard to follow in the footsteps of Annette and Tracy.


1.  Above – 3:30
2.  Drumbone – 3:26
3.  Time To Start – 4:22
4.  Up To The Roof – 4:16
5.  Altering Appearances – 2:24
6.  Persona – 4:12
7.  Your Attention – 4:04
8.  Piano Smasher – 6:02
9.  Shirts And Hats – 4:41
10.  Sing Along – 3:11
11.  One Of These Days – 3:12
12.  Rock Concert Movement #237  -0:31
13.  Shadows Part 2 – 2:35
14.  The Complex – 6:02
15.  Light Suits – 2:31
16.  I Feel Love – 4:09
17.  Rock And Go – 4:32
18.  Baba O’Riley – 5:00
19.  What Is Rock – 3:40

Companies, etc.


Released: 2008
Recorded at American Airlines Arena, Dallas, TX
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Art Rock
Length: 1:12:21

Label – Rhino Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s