Parliament – Parliament Live/P. Funk Earth Tour (1977)

Parliament is a funk band most prominent during the 1970s. Both Parliament and its sister act, Funkadelic, are led by George Clinton.

Live: P-Funk Earth Tour is a 1977 Parliament live double album that documents the band’s P-Funk Earth Tour of that year. The performances include songs from Parliament’s albums through The Clones of Dr. Funkenstein as well as songs from the Funkadelic repertoire. The album is made up of portions of two performances from January 1977 at the Oakland Coliseum and the Los Angeles Forum.

No performance was ever the same for these guys, and that’s a major aspect of this album’s entertainment value, for it’s interesting to compare these live performances to their studio counterparts. Of particular note are the 15-minute extended performance of “Dr. Funkenstein” and the three-minute montage “Landing (Of the Holy Mothership).” Though unessential, Live: P-Funk Earth Tour is worth investigating for anyone curious about the ParliamentFunkadelic live experience and is a welcome alternative to the many bootlegs and latter-day P-Funk All Stars live recordings that have circulated over the years.

The track “The Landing (Of The Holy Mothership)” is a musical montage that mixes clips of various P-Funk recordings with broadcast news-style commentary from George Clinton. The original vinyl release contained a 22 × 33″ inch poster of George Clinton dressed as Dr. Funkenstein (photo by Diem Jones), as well as an iron-on t-shirt transfer that boasted the slogan “Take Funk To Heaven in ’77!”. “Parliament Live” became the group’s third album to be certified gold. This was the first Parliament album to feature Dawn Silva, and Lynn Mabry as vocalists.d over the years.


1. “P-Funk (Wants To Get Funked Up)” – 6:13 (released as a 12″ promo single-Casablanca NBD 20103 DJ)
2 .”Dr. Funkenstein’s Supergroovalisticprosifunkstication Medley” – 4:58
3 .”Do That Stuff” – 5:14
4. “The Landing (Of The Holy Mothership)” – 3:04 (released as the b-side of “Fantasy Is Reality”)
5. “The Undisco Kidd (The Girl Is Bad!)” – 7:02
6. “Children of Production” – 2:50
7. “Mothership Connection (Star Child)” – 5:51
8. “Swing Down, Sweet Chariot” – 5:06 (released as a 12″ promo single-Casablanca NBD 20103 DJ)
9. “This Is The Way We Funk With You” – 5:03
10. “Dr. Funkenstein” – 15:07
11. “Gamin’ On Ya!” – 4:09 (released as a 12″ promo single-Casablanca NBD 20103 DJ)
12. “Tear The Roof Off The Sucker Medley” – 4:57
13. “Night Of The Thumpasorus People” – 6:13
14. “Fantasy Is Reality” – 6:40 (released as a single-Casablanca 892 and 12″ single-Casablanca 20103 DJ)

Note: The last track from the original double LP release, “Fantasy Is Reality”, was omitted on the CD reissue due to the space restrictions



Released: May 5, 1977
Recorded: January 19, 1977 at the Los Angeles Forum and January 21, 1977 at the Oakland Coliseum
Genre: Funk, soul
Length: 69:56

Label – Casablanca Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s