Reverend Horton Heat – Space Heater (1998)

Space Heater is the fifth album by Reverend Horton Heat, released by Interscope Records in March 1998. It charted on the Billboard 200, reaching number 187. “Pride of San Jacinto” appears in the videogame Hot Wheels Turbo Racing.
Reverend Horton Heat returns with more of the Southern-fried rockabilly sound for which he’s become primarily known. The Reverend is unfortunately one of the most overlooked rock guitarists today, who really deserves more attention (just check out the roaring instrumental album opener “The Pride of San Jacinto”). And although the trio (which also includes Jimbo Wallace on stand-up bass and Scott Churilla on drums) is also one of the most energetic live bands around, they’ve had a problem in the past matching their spirited performances with memorable songs. The filler problem isn’t entirely solved on their latest, Space Heater, but one cannot deny the contagious, humorous personality contained in such highlights as “Lie Detector,” “Hello Mrs. Darkness,” and “Jimbo Song.” The band set out to enter the studio without any songs written, and attempted to write 30 songs in 30 days. They were able to accomplish their goal, and cut down the original pool of songs to the best 16 (with an extra unlisted track at the end). Although 1994’s Liquor in the Front is widely regarded as the Reverend’s finest, Space Heater certainly isn’t far behind.


  1. “Pride of San Jacinto”  (Wallace) – 3:13
  2. “Lie Detector”  (Heath) – 3:24
  3. “Hello Mrs. Darkness”  (Heath) – 3:11
  4. “Jimbo Song”  (Heath/Wallace) – 2:21
  5. “Revolution Under Foot”  (Heath/Wallace/Churilla) – 4:29
  6. “Starlight Lounge”  (Heath) – 2:48
  7. “Goin’ Manic”  (Heath/Churilla/Wallace) – 4:27
  8. “Mi Amor”  (Heath) – 3:05
  9. “For Never More”  (Heath/Wallace/Churilla) – 2:53
  10. “The Prophet Stomp”  (Heath) – 3:02
  11. “Native Tongue of Love”  (Heath) – 3:17
  12. “Couch Surfin'”  (Heath/Churilla) – 4:02
  13. “Cinco de Mayo”  (Heath/Churilla/Wallace/Stasium) – 2:11
  14. “Texas Rock-A-Billy Rebel”  (Heath) – 2:47
  15. “Baby I’m Drunk”  (Heath) – 3:11
  16. “Space Heater”  (Heath/Churilla/Wallace) – 9:47


  • Jim “Reverend Horton” Heath – guitars, vocals, harmonica (on “Pride of San Jacinto” and “Goin’ Manic”), ukulele (on “The Prophet Stomp”)
  • Jimbo Wallace – upright bass, backing vocals
  • Scott Churilla – drums, backing vocals (on “Jimbo Song” and “Couch Surfin’)
  • Tim Alexander – piano (on “Lie Detector”), accordion on (“Mi Amor”)
  • Ed Stasium – producer, recorder, mixer
  • Phillip Green – assistant recorder
  • Marvin Hlavenka – assistant recorder
  • Junichi Murakawa – assistant mixer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Tom Whalley – A&R direction
  • Scott Weiss – management
  • Jeffrey Taylor Light – legal
  • Unleashed – art direction + design
  • Lisa Peardon – photography

Released: March 24, 1998
Recorded: Dallas Sound Labs, Dallas, Texas
Genre: Psychobilly
Length: 45:13

Label – Interscope Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s