Rob Zombie – Educated Horses (2006)

Rob Zombie (born Robert Bartleh Cummings; January 12, 1965) is an American musician, filmmaker, and screenwriter. Zombie rose to fame as a founding member of the heavy metal band White Zombie, releasing four studio albums with the band. Educated Horses is the third album by Rob Zombie, released on March 28, 2006.
When he’s not directing feature films like House of 1000 Corpses and Devil’s Rejects, Rob Zombie likes to make music. Educated Horses, the prolific director, writer/animator/horror aficionado’s return to the world of hedonistic, sexed-up monster rock doesn’t stray too far from the formula that garnered him such a rabid fan base, but there’s less theater and more backwoods creepiness at hand this time around. Horses crawls on all fours for the first three tracks, relying on too many tried-and-true White Zombie dance beats and turgid guitar riffs to hint at anything outside of sheer puppetry, but when the mid-tempo crunch of “17 Year Locust” begins to echo Sabotage-era Black Sabbath, it’s clear that Zombie himself is having the time of his life pulling the strings. “Scorpion Sleeps,” with its boot-stomping intro plays like Gary Glitter‘s “Rock & Roll, Pt.1” blaring from angel’s trumpets at the apocalypse, “Ride,” with its Tubular Bells-inspired piano riff, evolves into a storm of sonic debauchery, and the purely psychedelic singalong “Death of It All” sounds like the end credits to the last film ever. Schlock it may be, but it’s infinitely more listenable — and enjoyable — than most schlock thinks it is.


1.  “Sawdust in the Blood”  – 1:22
2.  “American Witch”  – 3:47
3.  “Foxy Foxy”  (Zombie, Humphrey) – 3:28
4.  “17 Year Locust”  – 4:06
5.  “The Scorpion Sleeps”  – 3:38
6.  “100 Ways”  – 1:53
7.  “Let It All Bleed Out”  (Zombie, Humphrey) – 4:09
8.  “Death of It All”  – 4:22
9.  “Ride”  – 3:32
10.  “The Devil’s Rejects”  – 3:54
11.  “The Lords of Salem” –  4:13

All songs written by Rob Zombie, John 5 and Scott Humphrey unless otherwise noted.


Recording & Other

  • Scott Humphrey – producer, mixing
  • Rob Zombie – producer
  • Tom Baker – mastering
  • Chris Baseford – engineer
  • Todd Harapiak – assistant engineer
  • Will Thompson – assistant engineer

Art & Design

  • Rob Zombie – art direction, package design, additional photos
  • Kristin Burns – photos
  • Drew Fitgerald – art direction

Released:  March 28, 2006
Recorded: 2005 at The Chop Shop in Hollywood, CA
Genre: Heavy metal, hard rock
Length: 38:25

Label – Geffen Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s