Pretty Poison – Catch Me I´m Falling (1988)

Pretty Poison is an American dance group based out of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Group members are Jade Starling (lead vocalist); Whey Cooler (keyboardist and guitarist); and Kaya Pryor (percussionist). Pretty Poison is best known for their hit, “Catch Me (I’m Falling)“, a top 10 U.S. Billboard Hot 100 in 1987.
Catch Me I’m Falling is the 1988 official debut album (second album overall after the Laced EP) by the American dance-pop group Pretty Poison, who consisted of Jade Starling and Whey Cooler. It contains the title track “Catch Me (I’m Falling)“, which was a top ten hit in the U.S. and also hit number one on the Billboard Hot Dance Club Play chart the previous year. The second single off the album was a remix of their 1984 dance hit “Nighttime” which references Whodini‘s 1984 song “Freaks Come Out at Night” and was a top 40 hit in May 1988. The third single, “When I Look into Your Eyes”, peaked on the dance chart in September of the same year.
The production and mixing on the title track is incredible, and it’s a true dance classic. Some of the other tracks suffer from blandness, but there are a few shining moments, such as “Let Freedom Ring” and the shoulda-been-a-hit-single track “Shine”.


  1. “Hold Me” – 5:37
  2. “Nighttime” – 4:17
  3. “Closer” – 6:05
  4. “When I Look into Your Eyes” – 4:12
  5. “Let Freedom Ring”  (Starling, Cooler, Bobby Corea) – 4:32
  6. Catch Me (I’m Falling)” – 4:54
  7. “The Look” – 5:13
  8. “Don’t Cry” – 5:05
  9. “Shine” – 4:42
  10. “Heaven”  (J. Wilson, J. Cohen, I. Gold, Starling, Cooler) – 5:04

All tracks written by Jade Starling and Whey Cooler except where noted.

Pretty Poison

  • Jade Starling: Vocals
  • Whey Cooler: Guitars, Keyboards, Electronic Percussion
  • David “Kaya” Prior: Percussion (on “Nighttime” and “Catch Me, I’m Falling

Additional Personnel

  • Louie Franco, Ron Jennings, Greg Porter, Chris Arms, Greg Poree: Guitars
  • André Cymone: Guitars, Keyboards
  • Kae Williams Jr., Kurt Shore, Fred Zarr, Andy Marvel, Eumir Deodato: Keyboards
  • Tony Romeo, Boyd Jarvis: Bass
  • Bobby Corea: Drums
  • Brian Kilgore, Bashiri Johnson, Dave Darlington, Paul Simpson: Percussion
  • Jimmy Zee: Saxophone
  • Tenita Jordan, Carrie Johnson, Cheryl Gatson, Diane Richards, Zoe Walken, Butch Robinson, Cuca Eschevaria: Vocal Backing
  • Producer(s) – André Cymone, Fred Zarr, Kae Williams, Jr., Kurt Shore, Deodato

Released: 1988
Recorded: 1987
Genre: Dance-pop

Label – Virgin Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s