Playradioplay! – (2008) Texas

Analog Rebellion (formerly PlayRadioPlay!) is the solo, independent music project of Aledo, Texas songwriter Daniel Hunter. Hunter’s solo career was started under the name PlayRadioPlay! in December 2005. Hunter changed the name to Analog Rebellion in September 2009, stating in his blog “I have come to the point where I no longer feel that the name PlayRadioPlay! represents the music I create”.
Hunter writes, records and performs all of his own music, and refers to his sound as “Stadium Lo-Fi“, an oxymoronic synthesis of the Lo-Fi genre and Stadium Rock genre.
There are a number of reasons why Playradioplay!‘s debut album, Texas, feels like peeking into a teenager’s journal instead of listening to an album. Part of it has to do with the deeply personal lyrics that are both obscure and intimate, offering just enough detail to help listeners relate, but not enough to give them the whole story. But in this case, the fragile vulnerability on display isn’t a stylistic choice, but genuine expression — Daniel Hunter, the one-man show behind the project, was just 17 (and not yet out of high school) when he signed with Island Records. The lyrics and emotions on Texas lay his youthful angst and uncertainty out for display, but why fault a teenage artist for being, well, a teenage artist? Though their music is nothing alike, Hunter‘s situation calls to mind another young Daniel — in this case, Silverchair‘s Daniel Johns — in the sense that the album captures not only Hunter‘s current skill, but also his future potential. Like Silverchair‘s Frogstomp, Texas is not a perfect album, but it doesn’t need to be. It’s refreshing and exciting enough to listen to Hunter explore his sound, often with shimmering results. His voice is haunting and delicate, blending into the background of electronic beats, loops, and guitar only to come back to the forefront for the inevitably catchy refrain. The effect makes Texas an album that’s suitable as both trendy club music and introspective listening. A case in point is “Madi Don’t Leave,” whose dance-ready chorus is framed by verses about the impending collapse of a relationship. Like the rest of the songs on the album, “Madi Don’t Leave”‘s light melody contrasts with darker lyrical content. It’s a mix that usually hits, though not always. There are several places where the album falters (“My Attendance Is Bad But My Intentions Are Good” quickly devolves into repetition, while “Corner Office Bedroom” sounds like a pale rehash of a Coldplay outtake), but it’s never enough to bring down Texas entirely. Hunter didn’t need to seek perfection with his debut — he did well enough in seeking himself.


  1. “Loco Commotion” – 4:12
    • 1.5. “Suddenly, I’ve Become a Perfectionist” – 0:11
  2. “I’m a Pirate, You’re a Princess” – 4:08
    • 2.5. “A Special Thanks to Dr. Allan C. Lloyd” – 1:01
  3. “Some Crap About the Furniture” – 3:30
    • 3.5. “Invisible Suits and Ties” – 1:42
  4. “Madi Don’t Leave” – 4:51
    • 4.5. “For the Whole World/Room to See” – 0:48
  5. “Without Gravity” – 4:03
  6. “See You Soon” – 4:01
  7. “I’m Afraid There’s a Hole in My Brain” – 3:47
    • 7.5. “Taxes” – 0:15
  8. “More of the Worst” – 3:25
    • 8.5. “Lady Killers Wear Funny Hats” – 1:28
  9. “My Attendance Is Bad But My Intentions Are Good” – 3:01
    • 9.5. “Cheap Paper With Full Color Advertisements” – 1:32
  10. “Corner Office Bedroom” – 3:22
    • 10.5. “Why Is Everyone Running?” – 0:48
  11. “Forgiveness, The Enviable Trait” – 2:21
  12. “Texas” – 0:59
  13. “Elephants as Big as Whales” – 5:38 (iTunes Bonus Track)
  • Songs listed with a .5 are segues, preludes, and/or interludes that act as transitions between songs. It was a way to have the record label allow the band to have 20 songs on a debut release

Companies, etc.


Released: March 18, 2008
Genre: Electronic/Pop/Downtempo
Length: 49:19

Label – Island Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s