Ted Leo And The Pharmacists – The Brutalist Bricks (2010)

Ted Leo and the Pharmacists are an American rock band formed in 1999 in Washington, D.C.. Though the group’s lineup has fluctuated throughout their career, singer/guitarist Ted Leo has remained the band’s main songwriter, creative force, and only constant member. The group’s music combines elements of punk rock, indie rock, art punk, traditional rock, and occasionally folk music and dub reggae. Their most recent album, The Brutalist Bricks, was released on March 9, 2010.
The name Ted Leo on the spine of a CD is like a trademark of consistency. Before the first note cuts through the air, you know what you are going to get. It’s been this way since his time with Chisel back in the mid-’90s, and it’s no different on this first record for Matador, 2010’s The Brutalist Bricks. Leo and his band display the expected high level of passion as they run through a batch of consistently strong power pop-influenced, punk-tinged rock & roll songs, never dialing back to anything less than nine or so. Even the quiet songs, of which there are a couple, seethe with barely suppressed feelings and rage. Anyone thinking that the regime change in the U.S. that took place between this and Leo’s previous album have tempered his anger at the system would be dead wrong. Leo’s typically knotty and sometimes hard-to-decode lyrics rail against the kind of troubles and injustices a new Administration, even one more in line with Leo’s ideals, can’t just wipe away. In lesser hands, the words could fall flat, or at very least become an annoyance, but Leo’s delivery and total commitment win out. It helps, too, that The Brutalist Bricks is loaded with very sticky melodies and hooks; Leo’s gift for singalong choruses and soaring vocal lines hasn’t deserted him here. The production is first-rate, too; the guitars cut through the air like shards of glass, the rhythm section sounds deep and rich, and there are enough little sonic touches (handclaps, organ, sirens, sound effects) to keep things interesting. Quite a few of the songs rank with Leo’s best work; the ripping, Damned-inspired rocker “Where Was My Brain?,” the super catchy (and slightly creepy) “Ativan Eyes,” the dynamic “The Mighty Sparrow,” and the typically poignant ballad “Even Heroes Have to Die” all qualify. Only the laid-back almost dance-y track “One Polaroid a Day” falls short of his usual standard, as Leo’s low-register croon isn’t his strongest vocal attribute. In many, if not most, artist’s case, making the same record again and again would be seen as a fault. In Leo’s case, it’s somehow comforting that every few years he’ll be along to inspire and cajole his fans with his dedication and passion. The Brutalist Bricks will let no one down in that regard.


1. “The Mighty Sparrow” – 2:37
2. “Mourning in America” – 2:59
3. “Ativan Eyes” – 4:22
4. “Even Heroes Have to Die” – 3:46
5. “The Stick” – 1:57
6. “Bottled in Cork” – 3:18
7. “Woke Up Near Chelsea” – 3:51
8. “One Polaroid a Day” – 4:10
9. “Where Was My Brain?” – 2:19
10. “Bartolomeo and the Buzzing of Bees” – 3:21
11. “Tuberculoids Arrive in Hop” – 2:26
12. “Gimme the Wire” – 2:55
13. “Last Days” – 3:47
14. “Everything Gets Interrupted” (iTunes Exclusive Bonus Track) – 2:39

All songs written by Ted Leo.


  • Ted Leo – guitar/vocals
  • James Canty – guitar
  • Marty Key – bass
  • Chris Wilson – drums

Released: March 9, 2010
Recorded: 2009
Genre: Art punk, punk rock, indie rock
Length: 41:50

Label – Matador Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s