Yo La Tengo – And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside-Out (2000)


Yo La Tengo (often abbreviated as YLT) is an American indie rock band formed in Hoboken, New Jersey in 1984. Since 1992, the lineup has consisted of Ira Kaplan (guitars, piano, vocals), Georgia Hubley (drums, piano, vocals), and James McNew (bass, vocals).
After years as one of indie rock’s standard-bearing groups, Yo La Tengo surpasses itself with And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside-Out. A culturally literate, emotionally rich album, on songs like “Let’s Save Tony Orlando’s House,” “The Crying of Lot G,” and “The Last Days of Disco,” it alludes to The Simpsons, enigmatic author Thomas Pynchon and independent films while exploring the comforting, confining, complex aspects of relationships. “Our Way to Fall” sets Ira Kaplan‘s recollection of falling in love to a dreamy, down-to-earth backdrop of gently brushed drums, luminous organs and vibes; “The Crying of Lot G” transforms the syrupy sweetness of ’50s ballads into a monologue about a relationship’s shortcomings. “Madeline”‘s shimmery indie bossa-nova and the countrified ballad “Tears Are in Your Eyes” showcase Georgia Hubley‘s buttery, empathetic voice; her singing makes these vignettes universal as well as personal. Like mature indie rock records such as Pavement‘s Terror Twilight and Jim O’Rourke‘s Eureka, And Then Nothing… favors mellow songwriting, detailed arrangements, and eclectic influences, such as the Silver Apples-like drum machines and doo wop backing vocals that adorn many of the songs. The wintry, implosive “Everyday” uses both of these elements, along with a plaintive guitar and hushed, hypnotic vocals, to begin the album on a surprisingly somber note. Similarly, the off-kilter beats, odd piano bursts, and harmonies on “Saturday” add to the song’s awkward, uneasy beauty. Finally, nine songs into the album, Yo La Tengo breaks out the whammy and feedback action on “Cherry Chapstick,” their most incandescent song since “Sugarcube.” Easily one of 2000’s most accomplished albums, And Then Nothing Turned Itself Inside-Out isn’t as immediate as some of the group’s earlier work, but it’s just as enduring, proving that Yo La Tengo is the perfect band to grow old with.


1.  “Everyday”   (Hubley, McNew) – 6:32
2.  “Our Way to Fall”   (Kaplan) – 4:18
3.  “Saturday”   (Hubley, Kaplan) – 4:18
4.  “Let’s Save Tony Orlando’s House”   (Hubley) – 4:59
5.  “Last Days of Disco”   (Kaplan) – 6:28
6.  “The Crying of Lot G”   (Kaplan) – 4:45
7.  “You Can Have It All”  (Harry Wayne, Casey Hubley) – 4:37
8.  “Tears Are In Your Eyes”   (Hubley) – 4:35
9.  “Cherry Chapstick”   (Kaplan) – 6:12
10.  “From Black to Blue”   (Kaplan) – 4:47
11.  “Madeline”   (Hubley) – 3:37
12.  “Tired Hippo” – 4:46
13.  “Night Falls on Hoboken”   (Kaplan) – 17:42

All tracks written by Yo La Tengo unless otherwise noted.

Companies, etc.


Released: February 22, 2000
Recorded: Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Genre: Lo-Fi, Indie Rock
Length: 77:15

Label – Matador Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s