Jim Capaldi – Prince Of Darkness (1993)


Nicola JamesJimCapaldi (2 August 1944 – 28 January 2005) was an English drummer, singer and songwriter. His musical career spanned more than four decades. He co-founded the psychedelic rock band Traffic in 1967 with Steve Winwood with whom he co-wrote the majority of the band’s output. He was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a part of Traffic’s original line-up.
Capaldi also performed with the likes of Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, George Harrison, Alvin Lee, Cat Stevens, and Mylon LeFevre, and wrote lyrics for other artists, such as “Love Will Keep Us Alive” and “This is Reggae Music”. As a solo artist he scored more than a half dozen chart hits in various countries, the most well-known being “That’s Love” as well as his cover of “Love Hurts“.
Some Come Running essentially marked the end of Capaldi’s career as a solo artist. He would not record another solo album for well over a decade, though a greatest hits compilation, Prince of Darkness, was released in 1993 and made the charts in the Netherlands.
“Prince of Darkness” is, to all intents and purposes, Jim Capaldi’s ‘Greatest Hits’ collection.
This album contains a collection of songs from various points in his career which has been put together for All At Once Records. All songs are timeless classics and two of them are never before released on record, several others are never released on CD.
As such, it superbly showcases the considerable talents of a distinguished and original rocker. With one exception – noted later – the choice of tracks is impeccable. In short, then, this can be regarded as a ‘must own’ CD for rock fans; or it would be, if the CD were generally available. I strongly advise any rock fan to track down a copy if you possibly can.
The album kicks off with ‘Tonight You’re Mine’, the gripping opener from 1982’s “Fierce Heart”. There are three marvellous tracks – ‘Old Photographs’, ‘Only Love’ and ‘Child in the Storm’ – from the outstanding “Let the Thunder Cry” album. In a track list which contains nothing which is less than five-star material, ‘Prince of Darkness’, ‘Sweet Smell of Success’, ‘Tales of Power’ and ‘Man With No Country’ are particular stand-outs.
The exception mentioned earlier is the title track – or, indeed, anything at all – from the “Electric Nights” album. That outstanding album has long since sunk into obscurity, and has, indeed, never been issued on CD – a glaring gap in somebody’s catalogue. Although disco-tinged on a couple of tracks, it’s an excellent album.
“Prince of Darkness” is a superb collection showcasing the talents of Jim Capaldi.


1.  Tonight You’re Mine – 4:07
2.  Prince Of Darkness – 3:33
3.  Tales Of Power – 3:47
4.  Some Come Running – 4:24
5.  Love Used To Be A Friend Of Mine – 4:13
6.  Old Photographs – 4:49
7.  Sweet Smell Of Success – 5:17
8.  That’s Love – 3:33
9.  Only Love – 3:07
10.  Child In The Storm – 4:52
11.  Man With No Country – 4:00
12.  Going Home – 5:06
13.  The Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys – 5:20

Companies, etc.


Release:  1993
Genre:  Rock
Length:  56:24

Label – WEA Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s