The Lone Below – The Lone Below (2013)


The Lone Bellow is the debut studio album by the American folk rock trio The Lone Bellow.
This set, the Lone Bellow‘s debut album, is a gem. Full of haunting, passionate songs that breathe with country soul and a kind of autumnal grace, most of them written by lead singer and guitarist Zach Williams, the album has the feeling of a complete story, each track supporting the whole. Williams wrote some of these songs while waiting and hoping for his wife’s recovery from a serious accident that left her paralyzed from the neck down (she eventually recovered), and perhaps that’s why they have such emotional depth and range — they were written out of need rather than written as stepping stones on a career trajectory. But that doesn’t mean these sorts of songs don’t have commercial appeal. They do, and with the rest of the band working and writing these kinds of redemptive songs on the same page with Williams, it makes for an impressive early catalog. Although the Lone Bellow claim to play “Brooklyn country music” (and there is a kind of contemporary country tone to their sound), there’s a lot of other stuff mixed in there, from blues, gospel, folk, and slow-burning soul to indie-style rock, and there’s a pop sheen too, made quietly powerful by being unassuming about it. Songs like “Tree to Grow,” “Two Sides of Lonely,” “You Can Be All Kinds of Emotional,” and “The One You Should’ve Let Go,” to name just a few, defy easy labels. They sound like they’ve always been there, and it’s easy to imagine them being played on any genre station on the radio dial. This is a solid debut, made by a band that arrives fully formed and has a great future.


1.  “Green Eyes and a Heart of Gold”  (Brian Elmquist) – 4:14
2.  “Tree to Grow”  – 5:01
3.  “Two Sides of Lonely”  – 4:35
4.  “You Never Need Nobody”  (Sam Ashworth) – 4:50
5.  “You Can Be All Kinds of Emotional”  – 3:20
6.  “You Don’t Love Me Like You Used To”  (Elmquist, Trisha Ivy, Matt Knapp, Kanene Doheney Pipkin) – 3:15
7.  “Fire Red Horse”  – 3:53
8.  “Bleeding Out”  (Elmquist, Knapp, Charlie Peacock) – 3:41
9.  “Looking for You”  (Matthew Perryman Jones) – 5:28
10.  “Teach Me to Know”  (Caleb Clardy) – 3:29
11.  “The One You Should’ve Let Go”  – 5:04

iTunes bonus track
12. “Button” – 3:54

All tracks written by Zach Williams except where noted.


  • Zach Williams – guitar, lead vocals, songwriter
  • Kanene Doheney Pipkin – mandolin, vocals, songwriter
  • Brian Elmquist – guitar, vocals, songwriter
  • Ben Mars – upright bass, electric bass
  • Brian Murphy – accordion, keyboards, piano
  • Matt Knapp – Guitar, Electric guitar, pedal steel guitar
  • Brian Griffin – drums, percussion
  • Jason Pipkin, banjo, mandolin
  • Andy Leftwich – fiddle, mandolin
  • Mark Hill – bass guitar
  • Charlie Peacock – engineer, producer, piano, trumpet, Wurlitzer organ
  • Jerry McPherson – guitar, electric guitar
  • Ken Lewis – percussion
  • Eric Ryan Anderson – photography
  • Sam Ashworth – engineer, acoustic guitar
  • Richie Biggs – engineer, mixing
  • Michelle Box – A&R
  • Caleb Clardy – songwriter
  • Trisha Ivy – songwriter
  • Matthew Perryman Jones – songwriter
  • Richard Dodd – mastering
  • Jessica Evans – art direction, design
  • Leanne Ford – wardrobe
  • Erin Green – hair stylist, makeup
  • Jay Harren – A&R
  • James Sweeting – engineer, production coordination, programming
  • Tracy Zamot – public relations

Released: January 22, 2013
Genre: Alt-country, alternative rock, folk rock
Length: 50:44

Label – Descendant Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s