James Iha – Let It Come Down (1998)


Let It Come Down is James Iha‘s first solo album. It was released in 1998, during which Iha was still with The Smashing Pumpkins, before the release of Adore. Iha took on a more acoustic country-ish sound reminiscent of the songs he contributed to the Pumpkins, notably shying away from the darker sound of Billy Corgan‘s songwriting.
Iha had said that the quieter tone of the songs reflected the fact that many of them were written in his hotel rooms during The Smashing Pumpkins tours, and he didn’t want to disturb other guests by playing too loudly.
During lulls on the lengthy Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness tour and before the Smashing Pumpkins returned to the studio to record Adore, James Iha made his first solo album, Let It Come Down. Fortunately, it is one of the rare solo projects from a member of major band that explores territory that could not be covered by the band itself. Iha has made, in essence, a Californian soft rock album from the ’70s. Let It Come Down is a gentle record, filled with lovely little songs built with hushed acoustic guitars, simple harmonies, and sunny melodies. Iha has an appealingly shy voice that’s perfectly suited for these unassuming songs. And it’s not just the sound of the album that’s attractive; the songs themselves are sturdy and memorably melodic. Iha‘s handful of songwriting contributions to the Pumpkins suggested that he had talent, and he proves it here. Let It Come Down is by no means a major record, but it’s a refreshing little gem that begs for a sequel.


  1. “Be Strong Now” – 2:48
  2. “Sound of Love” – 3:56
  3. “Beauty” – 3:44
  4. “See the Sun” – 3:59
  5. “Country Girl” – 3:01
  6. “Jealousy” – 3:26
  7. “Lover, Lover” – 3:21
  8. “Silver String” – 3:53
  9. “Winter” – 4:25
  10. “One and Two” – 3:31
  11. “No One’s Gonna Hurt You” – 4:12
  12. “My Advice” – 3:15  (is a Japanese version bonus track.)

    All songs were written by James Iha



  • Produced By James Iha & Jim Scott
  • Post-Production By Scott Humphrey & Podboy, with post-production on “One and Two” by Flood
  • Engineered By Jim Scott, with additional engineering by Steve Spapperi
  • Mixed By Jim Scott; mix assisted by Mike Scotella
  • Mastered By Stephen Marcussen

Additional Personnel

  • Dave Menet – guitar tech
  • Russ Spice – equipment
  • Rob Austin – chef and mantra maker
  • Q Prime Inc – Management
  • Jill Berliner and Eric Greenspan – Legal
  • Mark Kaplan – accounting
  • Chris Billheimer – art direction
  • Jeremy Goldberg – cover photograph
  • Anette Aurell – back photograph
  • James Iha, Kevin Wells, Larry Hirshowitz – collage photographs
  • Lou Kregel, Patti West – illustrators
  • Todd Tatnall, Pro Tools Editing


Released: February 10, 1998
Recorded: 1997
Genre: Alternative rock
Length: 40:16

Label – Virgin Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s