Brian Courtney Wilson – So Proud (2012)


Brian Courtney Wilson is an American gospel and contemporary Christian music singer.
Wilson was raised in the Chicago, Illinois area. Since his childhood, Wilson began singing with the adult male chorus with his father at the Rock of Ages Baptist Church in Maywood, Illinois.
After growing up, Wilson enrolled at the University of Illinois, where he also sang in the black chorus. He eventually graduated with a degree in Liberal Arts and Sciences, with an emphasis on economics. Wilson took a job as a pharmaceutical salesman, while he continued to sing on his free time.
After seven years, Wilson moved to Houston, Texas, to work for Johnson & Johnson. He started visiting Windsor Village United Methodist Church with a friend and became a born-again Christian. After some time, Wilson was invited to write music for their services, with some of his songs receiving airplay in local radio stations.
At some point, Wilson met Pastor Rudy Rasmus, who was looking for songs to pitch to friend and music entrepreneur Mathew Knowles. After listening to Wilson’s song “Already Here”, Knowles signed Wilson to his record label Spirit Rising/Music World.
In 2009, Wilson released his debut album titled Just Love. The album was produced by Stan Jones and features contributions by Tommy Simms. In 2010, the title song was nominated for a Dove Award for Urban Recorded Song of the Year, while Wilson himself was nominated for New Artist of the Year at the 41st GMA Dove Awards.Wilson’s single “All I Need” also set a record for staying on the Top Gospel Songs chart for 89 weeks.[2] Wilson re-released a deluxe edition of his album on October 5 of the same year, accompanied by a nationwide tour through several cities in the United States.[3]
In 2012, Wilson undertook two projects simultaneously. First, he released the album “So Proud”. Warm and rich, So Proud is singer Brian Courtney Wilson‘s second, solid fusion of gospel, soul, and adult alternative, and it benefits from growth on almost all artistic counts. First there’s his voice, which is full-bodied and has weathered just enough to fall under the category of “vintage”, and second, there’s his delivery, which is a wonderful combination of easygoing and earnest. Finally, there’s the serious step up in songwriting which is best displayed on the closing title track where the support network of family is cherished.
According to, Wilson recalls that “The inspiration for this project came three years ago when I penned “So Proud,” the title song and the CD project’s first single. The song is about remembering … remembering the reasons why you should keep going when the days seem the hardest…remembering your value when people cast you aside…remembering the people who did not give up on you when you feel like giving up on yourself…and most of all, it’s about remembering that the reason we have so much to remember is because God has always been there to make a way through the people in our lives.” The album debuted at No. 1 on the Top Gospel Albums charts, and the singles “So Proud” and “He Still Cares” made their way to radio.
A guest appearance from Vanessa Bell Armstrong on “Unspeakable Joy” is icing on the cake.


1.  “Right Back”  (Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 4:40
2.  “Closer”  (Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 4:07
3.  “Grab and Hold”  (Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 4:14
4.  “He Still Cares”  (Stan Jones)  – 4:21
5.  “Keep Pressing On”  (Stan Jones)  – 3:50
6.  “One Day at a Time”  (Paul Morton Jr. / Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 3:18
7.  “Obey Anyway”  (Toby Hill)  – 4:40
8.  “Storm in Mind”  (Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 4:47
9.  “Perfect”  (Paul Morton Jr. / Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 3:10
10.  “Unspeakable Joy”  (Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 4:00    Featuring [Feat.] – Vanessa Bell Armstrong  
11.  “You Are My King”  (Stan Jones / Brian Courtney Wilson)  – 4:31
12.  “So Proud”  (Brian Courtney Wilson) – 3:51

Companies, etc.

Release Date: February 7, 2012
Duration: 49:29
Genre: Soul
Styles: Contemporary Christian, Contemporary Gospel, Inspirational, Gospel

Label – Music World Gospel

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s