Little Village – Little Village (1992)


Little Village is a 1992 studio album by the supergroup of the same name, consisting of Ry Cooder, John Hiatt, Nick Lowe and Jim Keltner. They had worked as a group while recording John Hiatt’s solo album Bring the Family, in 1987.
The band released only this album, did a tour of the US and Europe to support it, and disbanded the year of its release. Although all songs are credited to all four group members, Hiatt sang all but three, with two sung by Lowe and one by Cooder. “Solar Sex Panel” and “Don’t Go Away Mad” were released as singles.
Sometimes you just can’t get lightning to strike in the same place twice, no matter how hard you try, and the sole album from Little Village serves as proof. In 1987, guitarist Ry Cooder, bassist Nick Lowe, and drummer Jim Keltner backed up singer and songwriter John Hiatt on his album Bring the Family; the album was hailed as an instant classic, but negotiations to reassemble the group for Hiatt‘s next album failed. Five years later, the four musicians were persuaded to give working together another try, but this time instead of backing Hiatt, they’d form a band called Little Village, with all the members writing collectively and Hiatt, Cooder, and Lowe trading off on vocals. The idea certainly sounded promising, and there’s no denying that these guys play together brilliantly; Little Village rocks harder than Bring the Family, with Keltner and Lowe generating a bucketful of groove, and Cooder chiming in with a man-sized portion of his trademark funky guitar. But while the songs on Bring the Family were powerful, personal, and often deeply moving, here the band sounds like they’re just looking to make a good-time party album, and while it is indeed a good time, the results just aren’t as satisfying; bald spots and bad driving may be funny, but love and family are the kind of stuff that sticks with you. Also, while Little Village was supposed to be a democracy, it’s significant that John Hiatt ended up with the lion’s share of the vocals, and most of the songs sound like, well, like John Hiatt songs, which is by no means a bad thing, but with writers and vocalists of the caliber of Nick Lowe and Ry Cooder on board, it’s a shame we don’t hear more from them. After one album and one tour, Little Village called it a day, and while the album shows they knew how to work together, the finished product is just good fun, rather than the second instant classic they were shooting for.
At the Grammy Awards of 1993, Little Village was nominated in the “Best Album” category.


1.  “The Solar Sex Panel”  – 3:47
2.  “The Action”  (Ry Cooder) – 3:25
3.  “Inside Job”  – 4:17
4.  “Big Love”  – 6:26
5.  “Take Another Look”  (Nick Lowe) – 3:40
6.  “Do You Want My Job”  – 5:36
7.  “Don’t Go Away Mad”  – 3:39
8.  “Fool Who Knows”  (Nick Lowe) – 3:46
9.  “She Runs Hot”  – 3:19
10 . “Don’t Think About Her When You’re Trying to Drive”  – 4:33
11.  “Don’t Bug Me When I’m Working”  – 3:56

All songs written by Little Village and sung by John Hiatt except where noted.

Companies, etc.

Production notes

  • Produced by Little Village
  • Engineered by Ken Allardyce, Dan Bosworth, Allen Sides
  • Mastered by Bernie Grundman



Released: 18 February 1992
Recorded: 1991 Moula Banda Studios, Santa Monica, Hollywood, CA Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood, CA
Genre: Roots rock
Style: Country Rock
Length: 46:24

Label – Reprise Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s