BT – These Hopeful Machines (2010)


Brian Wayne Transeau (born October 4, 1970), better known by his stage name BT, is an American music producer, composer, technologist, audio technician, multi-instrumentalist, singer, and songwriter. An artist in the electronica music genre, he is credited as a pioneer of the trance and intelligent dance music styles that paved the way for EDM, and for “stretching electronic music to its technical breaking point.” He also creates music within many other styles, such as classical, film composition and bass music.
After reinventing himself as more of a headphone artist with 2006’s glitchy album This Binary Universe, BT takes it a step further on These Hopeful Machines, an effort that breaks the two-hour mark with only 12 songs. If that sounds like the progressive trance version of Saturnz Return, BT’s magnum opus does share some of the indulgence problems found on Goldie’s epic, but this effort is much more humble. The driving force behind Machines seems to be the producer’s love of freedom and exploration, as most tracks build, fade away, morph, and wander about with little care for what radio, clubs, or a major label might require. Fans who enjoy the glitch-meets-trance textures of Universe will find even more to love here, and more songs, too, as BT, the returning JES, and a handful of guest vocalists deliver the usual lyrics filled with modern mysticism. Riding “Suddenly” from its crunchy, avant opening to its Black Eyed Peas-like middle and onto its glitch-fueled flame-out is exciting, while the closing take on the Psychedelic Furs’ “Ghost in You” is a different trip, something akin to calmly floating in an ‘80s pop hit for eight minutes. “Forget Me” combines alt-rock angst and field recordings to great effect, while “Le Nocturne De Lumiere” creates a dream world out of thumb pianos and thumping house beats. Listeners who don’t mind so many devices and left turns must still be predisposed to BT’s airy, big-sky style of electronica to get the most out of this long, involved journey. These Hopeful Machines doesn’t try to convince, it’s meant to reward the already converted with a vast wonderland of melodic glitch and prolonged bliss.

Disc one
1. “Suddenly” (BT, Christian Burns) – 8:06
2. “The Emergency” (BT, Christian Burns, Andrew Bayer) – 10:38
3. “Every Other Way” (BT, JES) – 9:40
4. “The Light in Things” (BT, JES) – 10:47
5. “The Rose of Jericho” (BT) – 7:43
6. “Forget Me” (BT, Christian Burns) – 9:33

Disc two
1. “A Million Stars” (BT, Kirsty Hawkshaw, Ulrich Schnauss) – 12:26
2. “Love Can Kill You” (BT) – 5:21
3. “Always” (BT, Rob Dickinson) – 6:12
4. “Le Nocturne de Lumière” (BT) – 11:38
5. “The Unbreakable” (BT, Rob Dickinson) – 10:25
6. “The Ghost in You” (The Psychedelic Furs) – 7:57

Amazon MP3 Exclusive
1. “Always” (Chicane Remix) – 8:19

Companies, etc.


  • Artwork By [Art Direction & Design] – Gavin Taylor
  • Artwork By [Creative Direction] – BT, Gavin Taylor
  • Artwork By [Painting] – Aaron Jasinski
  • Engineer [Vocal Comping]Michael Dimattia
  • Mastered ByEmily Lazar, Joe Laporta
  • Mixed ByBT (tracks: 1-1 to 1-5, 2-1, 2-1, 2-4 to 2-6)
  • Producer, Engineer, Performer, Recorded ByBT
  • Written-ByBT (tracks: 1-1 to 1-6, 2-1 to 2-5)
  • Vocals by BT, JES, Kirsty Hawkshaw, Rob Dickinson
  • Background vocals by Christian Burns, Amelia June
  • End chorus sung by Kaia Transeau

Released; February 1, 2010
Genre: Electronica, progressive breaks,
Style: progressive house, trance
Length: 108:26

Label – Black Hole Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s