Rick Ely – Rick Ely (1970)

0001729316Does anyone out there remember a very short-lived television series called “The Young Rebels”? Or the handsome star, Rick Ely (wasn’t he just dreamy?), who played “Jeremy Larkin” on the show? Well, here’s a record from Rick Ely.

And I do remember Rick Ely from the teen magazines like Tiger Beat and 16 (okay, I still have a few of those). He wasn’t one of my “faves” back then (I was more in the David Cassidy and Donny Osmond crowd), but when I bought some old teen magazines on eBay a few years ago, and some of them had pictures and articles about him, I developed a bit of a crush on him – well, a crush on the guy in the pictures from 38 years ago anyway (I’m thinking he must be in his early sixties now). I don’t know what happened to him after that except that he was on a soap opera for a while. But then… nothing. So, if anyone out there can give me an update on Rick Ely (also went by Richard Ely and Richard K. Weber), I would love it! I know there are other Rick Ely fans out there who would like to know whatever happened to him.

This album is the only album he recorded, that I know of. He did release a single off it – “Circle Game” – but it wasn’t a top-40 hit, although I think I read that it enjoyed some modest play in Hawaii. His voice reminds me a little of Bobby Sherman – easy, laid-back, mellow – and I find it rather pleasant. You’ll recognize most of the songs, too, as it’s mostly covers (I think just about everybody has recorded “Your Song”).

Tracklist

Side A
A1. Circle Game  (Written-By – Mitchell)  – 3:39
A2. Up On The Roof  (Written-By – Goffin And King)  – 3:12
A3. The Other Side Of Life  – 2:07
A4. Something  (Written-By – George Harrison)  – 3:00
A5. Make It With You  (Written-By – Gates)  – 2:56

Side B
B1. Morning Girl  (Written-By – Saussy)  – 2:54
B2. Your Song  (Written-By – Elton John & Bernie Taupin)  3:56
B3. The Last Thing On My Mind  – 3:19
B4. The Fool On The Hill  (Written-By – Lennon-McCartney)  – 3:19

Credits

Notes
Release: 1970
Genre: Soft Rock
Length: 28:25

Label – RCA Victor Records

Leave a Reply

