Betty Wright And The Roots – Betty Wright: The Movie (2010)


Betty Wright: The Movie is a musical album, a collaboration by singer Betty Wright and The Roots. It was released November 15, 2011.
Betty Wright: The Movie is this Miami soul legend’s first album since 2001’s Fit for a King, but it’s hardly a return. During Wright’s decade away from making her own records, she was busy helping others — including Kelly Clarkson, Joss Stone, Diddy, Keyshia Cole, and Lil Wayne — as a songwriter, arranger, producer, and background vocalist.
Here, she links up with the intrepid Roots crew and several supplemental session musicians, and she wrangles complementary appearances from Stone and the tremendously underappreciated Lenny Williams, as well as disruptive interjections from Lil Wayne and Snoop Dogg.
Most of the songs were either written or co-written by Angelo Morris, who has been collaborating with Wright since the late ‘80s. It’s Wright’s best-sounding album since her self-titled 1981 release for Epic, with her backing band emulating vintage soul one moment and switching it up for more modern (and wholly appropriate) sounds the next. Wright sounds terrific, navigating through the upbeat, attitudinal jams and slower, romantic cuts with finesse and strength.
The lead single for the album is the upbeat performance of “Grapes on a Vine” featuring Lil Wayne.


  1. “Old Songs”  (R. Gordon, A. Morris, Wright)  – 5:38
  2. “Real Woman” (featuring Snoop Dogg)  (C. Broadus, R. Jeanty, S. McMillion, A. Morris, Wright)  – 5:34
  3. “In the Middle of the Game (Don’t Change the Play)”  (T. Castillo, A. Morris, Wright)  – 3:55
  4. “Surrender”  (A. Morris, Wright)  – 5:06
  5. “Grapes on a Vine” (featuring Lil Wayne)  (D. Carter, A. Morris, Wright)  – 5:15
  6. “Look Around (Be a Man)”  (A. Morris, A. Pallin, Wright)  – 5:06
  7. “Tonight Again”  (A. Morris, Wright)  – 5:23
  8. “Hollywould” (featuring Robert “The Messenger” Bozeman)  (R. Bozeman, A. Morris, Wright)  – 6:39
  9. “Whisper in the Wind” (featuring Joss Stone (A. Morris, J. Stoker, Wright)  – 5:25
  10. “Baby Come Back” (featuring Lenny Williams)  (R. Jeanty, S. McMillion, Wright)  – 4:37
  11. “So Long, So Wrong”  (A. Morris, Wright)  – 3:37
  12. “You and Me, Leroy”  (R. Angry, M. Kelley, A. Thompson, Wright)  – 5:35

Bonus Tracks

  • “The One”  (G. Curtis, Wright)  – 6:04
  • “Go!”  (A. Morris, J. Wright, Wright)  – 9:39

Companies, etc.



Released: November 15, 2011
Recorded by Steve Mandel at Feliz Habitat Studios, NYC; and Angelo Morris at Audio Vision and High Place Recording Studios, Miami, FL, “Go! (Live)” recorded by Jeff Knight and Raymond Gordon for Ms B Productions, Inc.
Genre: R&B, soul, adult contemporary
Length: 77:41

Label – S-Curve Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s