Cowboy – Cowboy (1977


Cowboy was a country/southern rock band from Jacksonville, Florida who released four albums through legendary Capricorn Records label in 1970´s. They are probably best remembered from the song “Please Be With Me” which Eric Clapton covered in his 461 Ocean Boulevard album.
Cowboys were put together in 1969 by Scott Boyer and Tommy Talton. After getting Taltons old friend, Tom Wynn to play drums, George Clark on bass and Bill Pillmore on keyboards they were all soon living in a house together in Jacksonville, practicing day and night.
Cowboy released their debut album “Reach for the Sky” in 1970 and soon after they headed to Muscle Shoals studios to work on their sophomore album, Five’ll Getcha Ten. In 1973 Cowboy released Why Quit When You’re Losing?, toured with the Allman Brothers Band with new drummer, Bill Stewart, after which, Boyer, along with Talton, was recruited as members of the Capricorn rhythm section. Cowboy was also the backup band for Gregg Allman’s 1974 On Tour album.
Playing a kind of acoustic country-rock similar to contemporaries Pure Prairie League, Cowboy had their own twist on the formula, thanks to Talton and Boyer‘s sharp, focused songwriting and a distinguishable Muscle Shoals flair. After hearing the band, Duane Allman passed the word along to Phil Walden at Macon, Georgia’s Capricorn Records, who offered the group a recording contract. The band’s membership was pretty fluid during this time, other than Talton and Boyer, both of whom became de facto members of the Capricorn house band, playing with the Allman Brothers, Gregg Allman, Alex Taylor, and Bonnie Bramlett, among others.
Boyer & Talton got together again in 1977, added three new members to Cowboy, and recorded this self-titled album full of straight pop tunes. “Everyone Knows Your Name” and “Pat’s Song” shine, but each track has something to offer. A bit lightweight, Cowboy still holds its own in the band’s history.


1.  Takin It All The Way  (3:06)
Written-By – Scott Boyer
2.  Now That I Know  (3:54)
Written-By – Tommy Talton
3.  Pat’s Song  (3:32)
Written-By – Scott Boyer
4.  Straight Into Love  (4:10)
Written-By – Tommy Talton
5.  Everybody Knows Your Name  (4:44)
Written-By – Scott Boyer, Tommy Talton
6.  What Can I Call It  (2:40)
Written-By – Chip Condon
7.  Nobody Else’s Man  (4:28)
Written-By – Tommy Talton
8.  Except For Real  (3:53)
Written-By – Chip Condon
9.  Satisfy  (3:02)
Written-By – Scott Boyer
10.  River To The Sea  (5:19)
Written-By – Tommy Talton

Companies, etc.



Release: 1977
Recorded and Mixed at Capricorn Sound Studios, July and August, 1977.
Genre: Rock
Style: Country Rock, Southern Rock
Length: 38:42

Label – Capricorn Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s