Every Mother´s Nightmare – Every Mother´s Nightmare (1990)


Every Mother’s Nightmare (EMN) is a hard rock/hair metal band formed in Nashville. Forming in the early 90’s, Every Mother’s Nightmare is no stranger to the music scene. After quickly arriving on the Memphis rock scene, word spread about their energy-packed live performances gaining them the attention of Clive Davis (Arista Records). After signing with Arista, they became staples on MTV’s Headbanger’s Ball with their music videos for “Walls Came Down”, “Love Can Make You Blind”, and “House of Pain”.
Every Mother’s Nightmare is a very overlooked album that fits mostly into the hair metal category except much darker and heavier. “Walls Come Down” the best song on the album is a super-heavy screamin’ rockin’ song. Rick Ruhl, the singer has a very unique voice and gives the album a bit of a southern edge (They Are From Tennessee). “Love Can Make You Blind” is a cover of Charlie Daniels and gave the band a top 15 single. In my opinion it isnt the best, the same goes to “Long Haired Country Boy” another cover on the album. There are many other rockers on the album such as “Bad On Love” and “Hard To Hold”.
By 1993, major labels were tending to favor alternative rock over corporate metal. But at the dawn of the decade, majors were signing corporate headbangers left and right. And at Arista, one commercial metal/hard rock band that enjoyed a big promotional push in 1990 was Every Mother’s Nightmare. This self-titled release left no doubt that Motley Crue was EMN’s primary influence, and it was no secret that EMN wasn’t exactly the most original band in the world. EMN’s detractors denounced the outfit as a poor man’s Motley Crue, a criticism that isn’t without merit. But be that as it may, some of the album’s tunes are catchy enough — namely, “Hard to Hold,” “Listen Up” and “Walls Come Down.” This is far from a great album, and EMN often sounds too calculated for its own good, but the CD has its moments.


1.  “Hard To Hold”  (Jim Phipps, R.T. Scott, Rick Ruhl, Steve Malone)  – 3:27
2.  “Ez Come, Ez Go”  (Phipps, Mark McMurtry, Ruhl, Malone)  – 3:44
3.  “Bad On Love”  (Damon Johnson, R.T. Scott, Ruhl, Malone)  – 3:11
4.  “Walls Come Down”  (James Crawford, Ruhl, Malone)  – 5:14
5.  “Love Can Make You Blind”  (Crawford, Ruhl, Malone)  – 5:00
6.  “Listen Up”  (Ruhl, Malone)  – 3:02
7.  “Dues To Pay”  (Ruhl, Malone)  – 2:58
8.  “Long Haired Country Boy”  (Charles E. Daniels)  – 3:47
9.  “Lord Willin'”  (Crawford, Phipps, Ruhl, Malone)  – 3:10
10 .” Nobody Knows”  (Crawford, Phipps, Ruhl, Malone)  – 5:46



Release: 1990
Recorded at The Warehouse, Memphis, TN.
Mixed at Ardent Recording Studios, Memphis.
Mastered at Sterling Sound, NYC
Genre:  Rock
Style:  Hard Rock, Glam
Length: 39:34

Label – Arista Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s