Steven Wilson – Grace For Drowning (Deluxe Edition) (2011)


Grace for Drowning is the second solo studio album by Steven Wilson, producer, songwriter, and frontman of Porcupine Tree. It was released by Kscope Music Records on 26 September 2011. The album received a nomination at the 54th Annual Grammy Awards for Best Surround Sound Album.
For prolific British progressive rocker Steven Wilson, the two-CD set Grace for Drowning is his second official solo album, following 2008’s Insurgentes. Recording under his own name, Wilson tends to fall somewhere between his popular Porcupine Tree group project and his ambient recordings as Bass Communion. Grace for Drowning‘s two discs are divided into one called Deform to Form a Star and another called Like Dust I Have Cleared from My Eye, both named after tracks on them. In the relatively sparse lyrics that Wilson sings with a calm, British-accented tenor, he seems melancholy at first, apparently suffering from the aftermath of a romantic breakup. “There’s nothing left for me to say or do,” he declares in “Postcard.” By the second disc, he has become angrier about the situation, but the closing title track finds him reaching resolution and moving on.
The words are spread out over music that builds and ebbs in a manner that allows for different styles and soloing by Wilson and a few musical guests. He is not abashed about evoking his prog predecessors. The obvious antecedent is Pink Floyd, particularly recalled in the space rock of “No Part of Me.” The 23-minute “Raider II,” coming toward the end, allows room for a flute-and-piano section that could have been excerpted from a Traffic album as well as guitar-bass-drum sections in rapid 6/4 time suggestive of Yes.
By the end, Wilson has subsided into an ambient coda on “Like Dust I Have Cleared from My Eye,” as if readying himself for the next Bass Communion album. Grace for Drowning has a particular conception in terms of its emotional journey from sadness through anger to acceptance, but it is also just another in a lengthy discography of albums by Wilson under various names in relatively similar styles.


Disc 1: Deform to Form a Star

1.  “Grace for Drowning”  – 2:06
2.  “Sectarian”  – 7:41
3.  “Deform to Form a Star”  – 7:51
4.  “No Part of Me”  – 5:45
5.  “Postcard”  – 4:29
6.  “Raider Prelude”  – 2:23
7.  “Remainder the Black Dog”  – 9:27

Disc 2: Like Dust I Have Cleared from My Eye

1.  “Belle de Jour”  – 2:59
2.  “Index”  – 4:49
3.  “Track One”  – 4:16
4.  “Raider II”  – 23:21
5.  “Like Dust I Have Cleared from My Eye”  – 8:01

Disc 3: The Map (Deluxe Edition only; Demos + Out-Takes)

1.  “Home in Negative”   – 3:00
2.  “Fluid Tap”  –  5:45
3.  “The Map”  –  3:30
4.  “Raider Acceleration”  –  6:15
5.  “Black Dog Throwbacks”  –  2:30
6.  “Raider II” (demo version)  – 21:15

All tracks written by Steven Wilson.


  • Andy Leff — Acme Music
  • Alex Leeks — assistant

Visuals and imagery


Technical and production


  • Steven Wilson — vocals on all tracks except “Sectarian”, “Raider Prelude” and “Belle de Jour”
  • Dave Kerzner — sound design on “Raider II”
  • Synergy Vocals – choir on “Postcard”, “Raider Prelude” and “Raider II”


Released: 26 September 2011
Recorded: January 2010 – June 2011
Written and recorded during the period of Jan 2010 – June 2011.
Produced and mixed at No-Man’s Land, Hemel Hempstead, Koolworld, Luton & Angel Studio, Islington.
Additional recording made by the musicians on location in the UK, USA and Germany.
Management for Acme Music. Artwork and design for Aleph.
Exclusively administered through Universal Music Publishing Group
Genre: Rock
Style: Art Rock, Prog Rock, Experimental, Avant-garde Jazz
Length: 125:06

Label – Kscope Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s