Justin Timberlake – The 20/20 Experience – 2 of 2 (2013)

Justin Randall Timberlake (born January 31, 1981) is an American singer, songwriter, actor and record producer. Born in Memphis, Tennessee, he appeared on the television shows Star Search and The All-New Mickey Mouse Club as a child. In the late 1990s, Timberlake rose to prominence as one of the two lead vocalists and youngest member of NSYNC, which eventually became one of the best-selling boy bands of all time.


The 20/20 Experience – 2 of 2 is the fourth studio album by American singer and songwriter Justin Timberlake. It was released on September 27, 2013 by RCA Records. The album is considered the second half of a two-piece project, being supplemented by his third studio album The 20/20 Experience (2013). Its lead singleTake Back the Night” was released on July 12, 2013. Coinciding with the release of The 20/20 Experience – 2 of 2, the record was packaged with The 20/20 Experience and released as a compilation album titled, The 20/20 Experience – The Complete Experience.

Just before the release of The 20/20 Experience, the Roots?uestlove, who opened as a DJ for Justin Timberlake‘s SXSW festival appearance, announced that there would be a sequel. A little more than six months later, it was released, consisting of more recordings from Timberlake‘s May-June 2012 sessions with friend Timbaland, Jerome Harmon, and James Fauntleroy. The construction is similar to that of the first volume. At 74 minutes and 11 (or 12) songs, it’s a little longer, and much of it has that feel-over-concision, part-improv — just spit ballin’! — makeup. It starts more energetically, with a frivolous and robust jam for singles night at a zoo or Rainforest Café. The funkier and more frantic “True Blood” increases the energy and humor, swaps out nature effects for fantasy howls. Its ideas are exhausted after three and a half minutes, but it continues for another six. Relatively concise, “Cabaret,” a standout featuring Drake, revamps Timbaland‘s trademark stuttering drums and has some of Timberlake‘s more clever/nauseating lines: “If sex is a contest, then you’re coming first”; “‘Cause I got you saying Jesus so much, it’s like we’re laying in a manger.” Serving the same purpose of “Suit & Tie,” “Take Back the Night” is another throwback to sophisticated disco-funk, but it resembles a cover of a deep soundtrack cut rather than a fresh spin on a classic. The second half is a laborious crawl, a variety of glorified and slow bonus tracks. It consists of slumping quasi blues, passable falsetto-soul balladry, a jilted post-breakup number with an extended coda, a blaring kiss-off that shifts into air-horn-enhanced dub (why not?), and a squeaky-clean adult pop love song. That’s five songs in 37 minutes, though it’s really six songs counting the hidden bit — a solo acoustic ballad containing the line “If I could, I’d fly you away on a big ol’ pair of wings.” The album was sold separately and bundled with part one, not as The Complete 20/20 Experience, but as The 20/20 Experience: The Complete Experience. Taken in one shot, the complete version plays out like an excessively expanded edition of a three-star album.

The album, as part of the compilation The 20/20 Experience – The Complete Experience, was nominated for a Grammy Award in the category Best Pop Vocal Album.


The 20/20 Experience – 2 of 2 — Standard edition

1.  “Gimme What I Don’t Know (I Want)”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy)  – 5:17
2.  “True Blood”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon)  – 9:31
3.  “Cabaret” (feat. Drake)  (Timberlake, Mosley, Graham  Harmon, Fauntleroy, Jones)  – 4:33
4.  “TKO”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy, Barry White)  – 7:05
5.  “Take Back the Night”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy)  – 5:55
6.  “Murder” (feat. Jay Z)  (Timberlake, Mosley, Shawn Carter, Harmon, Fauntleroy)  – 5:08
7.  “Drink You Away”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy)   – 5:33
8.  “You Got It On”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy)  – 5:54
9.  “Amnesia”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy, Jones)  – 7:06
10.  “Only When I Walk Away”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy, Amedeo Minghi)   – 7:07
11.  “Not a Bad Thing” / “Pair of Wings” (hidden track)  (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy)  (“Not a Bad Thing”) /  (Timberlake)  (“Pair of Wings”)  – 11:28

The 20/20 Experience – 2 of 2 — Deluxe edition and Japanese limited edition (bonus tracks)

12.  “Blindness”   (Timberlake, Robin Tadross, Fauntleroy  – 4:51
13.  “Electric Lady”   (Timberlake, Mosley, Harmon, Fauntleroy – 4:23


  • ^[a] Timberlake, in addition to producing each track, serves as a vocal producer on all tracks and is credited as “JT” for the latter role.
  • ^[b] additional producer
  • ^[c] vocal producer
  • ^[d] “Pair of Wings” is a hidden track on CD and digital versions of the album. It starts approximately five minutes and 28 seconds (5:28) into “Not a Bad Thing”.
  • “TKO” contains a sample from “Somebody’s Gonna Off the Man”, written and performed by Barry White.
  • “Only When I Walk Away” contains a sample from “Lustful”, written and performed by Amedeo Minghi. The track also features additional vocals by Brenda Radney and James Fauntleroy.

Primary musicians and producers

  • Justin Timberlake – vocals (all tracks), guitar (“Drink You Away”, “Not a Bad Thing”, “Pair of Wings” and “Blindness”), keyboards (“True Blood”, “You Got It On” and “Blindness”), production (all tracks), mixing
  • J-Roc – keyboards (all tracks except “Pair of Wings”), bass (“Pair of Wings”), production (all tracks except “Pair of Wings” and “Blindness”)
  • Elliott Ives – guitar (all tracks except “Electric Lady”)
  • Timbaland – production (all tracks except “Pair of Wings” and “Blindness”)
  • Rob Knox – production (“Blindness”)
  • Chris Godbey – engineering (all tracks), mixing
  • Reggie Dozier – strings engineering (“Take Back the Night”, “You Got It On”, “Amnesia” and “Pair of Wings”), horns engineering (“Take Back the Night”)
  • Jimmy Douglass – mixing

Additional contributors

  • The Benjamin Wright Orchestra – strings (“True Blood”, “Take Back the Night”, “You Got It On”, “Amnesia”, “Pair of Wings” and “Blindness”), horns (“Take Back the Night”)
  • Terry Santielpercussion (“True Blood”, “Take Back the Night” and “You Got It On”)
  • Daniel Jones – keyboards (“Cabaret”, “Take Back the Night” and “Amnesia”), additional production (“Cabaret” and “Amnesia”)
  • Brenda Radney – additional vocals (“Only When I Walk Away”)
  • James Fauntleroy – additional vocals (“Only When I Walk Away”)
  • Alejandro Baima – mixing assistance (“Gimme What I Don’t Know (I Want)”, “True Blood”, “TKO”, “Murder”, “Drink You Away”, “Only When I Walk Away” and “Not a Bad Thing”)
  • Matt Webber – mixing assistance (“Cabaret”, “Take Back the Night”, “You Got It On” and “Amnesia”)


Released: September 27, 2013
Recorded: May – July 2012 Studio, Jungle City Studios (New York City), Larrabee Studios (North Hollywood)
Genre: Electronic, Hip Hop, Rock, Funk / Soul, Pop
Style: RnB/Swing, Dance-pop, Pop Rock
Length: 83:33

Label – RCA Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s