Toto – Through The Looking Glass (2002)

Toto is an American rock band formed in 1977 in Van Nuys in Los Angeles.  Toto is known for a musical style that combines elements of pop, rock, soul, funk, progressive rock, hard rock, R&B, blues, and jazz.


Through the Looking Glass is the 11th studio album (though counted as the 12th album overall – see Toto XIV) by the American band Toto. It was released in 2002, three years after their last studio release, Mindfields. The album consists of covers of songs that have inspired the band.

The members of Toto celebrate their freedom from “corporate shackles and invisible slave owners” in their liner notes to this collection, copyrighted by Toto Recordings, Inc., even if it was released by CMC Records, which is owned by Capitol Records, which in turn is part of the major label EMI. The group’s idea for expressing its newfound liberty is to record an album consisting of cover songs by their favorite artists, an unimpeachable list including the Beatles, Elvis Costello, Cream, Bob Dylan, Herbie Hancock, Elton John, Bob Marley, Steely Dan, the Temptations, and Stevie Wonder. That solves one of Toto‘s persistent problems, coming up with material to match its vaunted session-musician chops. But it tends to emphasize another problem: that the bandmembers have spent their careers trying to sound like other people, or at least the way some producer wanted them to sound on a specific session. Their arrangements of classic songs like “Sunshine of Your Love” and “Bodhisattva” hew closely to the originals, even if guitarist Steve Lukather is let loose to solo as he pleases, particularly on the latter. These are great songs, and they were performed well originally. They still sound very good here, but Toto doesn’t bring anything to them that wasn’t there already. So, while it’s nice to know that the band has good taste in other people’s music, that doesn’t explain why anyone needs to hear them copy that music when the originals are so readily available.


1.   “Could You Be Loved”   (Bob Marley)  – 3:47
2.  “Bodhisattva”   (Walter Becker, Donald Fagen)  – 4:51
3.  “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”   (George Harrison)  – 5:15
4.  “I Can’t Get Next to You”   (Norman Whitfield, Barrett Strong)  – 4:04
5.  “Living for the City”   (Stevie Wonder)  – 5:49
6.  “Maiden Voyage/Butterfly”   (Herbie Hancock)  – 7:33
7.  “Burn Down the Mission”   (Elton John, Bernie Taupin)  – 6:28
8.  “Sunshine of Your Love”   (Jack Bruce, Pete Brown, Eric Clapton)  – 5:13
9.  “House of the Rising Sun”   (traditional)  – 4:40
10.  “Watching the Detectives”   (Elvis Costello)  – 4:04
11.  “It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry  (Live)”  (Bob Dylan)  – 3:52


Additional Musicians


  • Arranged and Produced by Toto
  • Engineered by Simon Phillips
  • Assistant Engineer: John Jessel
  • Tracks #1-5, 7-11 mixed by Steve MacMillan
  • Track #6 mixed by Simon Phillips
  • Recorded at Coy Sound Studios (Hollywood Hills, CA) and ATS Studios (Calabasas, CA).
  • Digital Editing by Louie Teran
  • Mastered by Stephen Marcussen
  • Edited and Mastered at Marcussen Mastering (Hollywood, CA).
  • Project Coordination: Anita Heilig
  • Art Direction and Design: Brian Peterson
  • Creative Director: Doug Brown
  • Photography: Resig & Taylor
  • Management: The Fitzgerald Hartley Co.


Released: October 21, 2002
© 2002, Toto Recordings Inc. ℗ 2002, Toto Recordings Inc. 34 North Palm Ave. Suite 100 Ventura, CA 93001. Under exclusive licence to CMC Records. All rights reserved 5421442.
Genre: Rock
Style: Soft Rock, Pop Rock
Length: 55:35

Label – CMC International

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s