Genesis – From Genesis To Revelation (1969, reissued 1974)

Genesis are an English rock band formed at Charterhouse School, Godalming, Surrey in 1967. The most commercially successful and long-lasting line-up includes keyboardist Tony Banks, bassist/guitarist Mike Rutherford and drummer/singer Phil Collins. Other important members were the original lead singer Peter Gabriel and guitarist Steve Hackett. The band underwent many changes in musical style over its career, from folk music to progressive rock in the 1970s, before moving towards pop at the end of the decade.


From Genesis to Revelation is the first studio album by the British band Genesis. It was released in March 1969 on Decca Records in England (London Records in North America). It was produced by Jonathan King, who discovered them in 1967 while the members of Genesis were pupils at Charterhouse School, King’s alma mater. It was reissued in various regions, including the United Kingdom (home country), as In the Beginning (first in 1974).

Genesis originally consisted of Peter Gabriel, Tony Banks, Mike Rutherford, and Anthony Phillips, without a drummer. Once one of their demo tapes caught the attention of Jonathan King, he took them under his wing, gave them the name Genesis and, with the addition of schoolmate Chris Stewart on drums, recorded “The Silent Sun” as their first single. It was later described by the band as a “Bee Gees pastiche” written specifically to win King’s approval, as the Bee Gees were one of King’s favourite groups. Its February 1968 release on Decca Records was not a commercial success. Neither was the follow-up “Where The Sour Turns To Sweet” three months later. Or the third single “A Winter’s Tale”. After replacing Chris Stewart with John Silver, King wanted the band to make an album with songs loosely based on passages in the Bible in the form of a concept album, and in the music style of the Bee Gees. The album was recorded in August 1968 during school holidays. King adding string accompaniments.

All songs written by Anthony Phillips, Michael Rutherford, Peter Gabriel & Anthony Banks. Copyright Jonjo Music Co. Ltd. BMI


1.  Where The Sour Turns To Sweet  (3:14)
2.  In The Beginning  (3:48)
3.  Fireside Song  (4:16)
4.  The Serpent  (4:36)
5.  Am I Very Wrong  (3:27)
6.  In The Wilderness  (3:23)
7.  The Conqueror  (3:38)
8.  In Hiding  (2:36)
9.  One Day  (3:17)
10.  Window  (3:34)
11.  In Limbo  (3:27)
12.  Silent Sun  (2:04)
13.  A Place To Call My Own  (1:56)

Companies, etc.



Released: 7 March 1969 (reissued 1974)
Recorded: September 1968, Studio Regent Sound Studios, London
Genre: Rock
Style: Prog Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Length: 43:25
© 1969, The Decca Record Company Limited, London
First U.S. release, Terre Haute Pressing, with variant labels form other U.S. copy with same cat#.

Label – London Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s