Further Seems Forever – Hide Nothing (2004)

Further Seems Forever is an American rock band formed in 1998 in Pompano Beach, Florida. Over its initial eight-year run the band experienced several lineup changes, resulting in a different lead vocalist performing on each of their first three studio albums.


Hide Nothing is the third studio album by the Pompano Beach, Florida rock band Further Seems Forever, released in 2004 by Tooth & Nail Records. It was the band’s only studio album with vocalist Jon Bunch, formerly of Sense Field, who had replaced Jason Gleason when the latter left the band due to interpersonal tensions.

Further Seems Forever continues to develop its appealing brand of melodic emo-core on 2004’s HIDE NOTHING. With a more finely tuned sense of songcraft than 2003’s HOW TO START A FIRE, HIDE NOTHING brings strains of progressive metal, pop melodicism, and the confessional side of the singer/songwriter tradition together with a strong guitar attack, lush harmonies, and rich production. The result is a sound that should appeal to both the hardcore set and lovers of emo-tinged indie rock. (It’s no coincidence that FSF’s former frontman was Chris Carrabba of Dashboard Confessional.)

However, Further Seems Forever’s most distinctive trait is its penchant for expressing values unusual for modern rock. The lyrics to “Light Up Ahead” deal with the promise of spiritual salvation, while the title track gives instructions for living openly during life’s short passage. There is a strong Christian message to many of the songs (especially “Lead the Way” and “All Rise”), but Further Seems Forever doesn’t proselytize directly. Instead, the group encourages listeners to dig for reserves of inner strength. Forgiveness and love have the final word (the last line of the last song–“For All We Know”–is “It’s a cruel, cruel world without love”), and that sets HIDE NOTHING apart.


  1. “Light Up Ahead” – 3:08
  2. “Hide Nothing” – 2:56
  3. “Already Gone” – 3:52
  4. “Like Someone You Know” – 3:16
  5. “Make it a Part” – 2:41
  6. “All Rise” – 2:49
  7. “Call on the Life” – 2:52
  8. “Lead the Way” – 2:32
  9. “Bleed” – 2:57
  10. “For All We Know” – 5:21
  11. “Bleed” (acoustic) – 3:23
  12. “Light Up Ahead” (acoustic) – 3:02
  13. “Make it a Part/All Rise” (acoustic) – 4:25

All lyrics written by Jon Bunch; all music written by Josh Colbert, Chad Neptune, Steve Kleisath and Derick Cordoba.


Album Information

  • Record label: Tooth & Nail Records
  • All songs written by Further Seems Forever.
  • Produced, engineered, and recorded by James Paul Wisner at Wisner Productions.
  • Drums recorded at Landmark Studios.
  • Vocal pre-production on tracks 1-3, 7, & 9 by Holly Louis.
  • Mixed by James Paul Wisner at The Sound Kitchen except “Already Gone” mixed by Jeremy du Bois at The Dungeon Recording Studio in north Miami, Florida.
  • Executive producer: Brandon Ebel.
  • Layout by Jason Oda for Starvingeyes Inc.


Released: August 24, 2004
Recorded at: Wisner Productions
Genre: Rock
Style: Indie Rock
Length: 29:54
All songs mixed at The Sound Kitchen except Already Gone mixed at The Dungeon Recording Studio, North Miami.
Drums recorded at Landmark Studios.

Label – Tooth & Nail Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s