Dan Fogelberg – The Wild Places (1990)

Daniel Grayling “Dan” Fogelberg (August 13, 1951 – December 16, 2007) was an American musician, songwriter, composer, and multi-instrumentalist whose music was inspired by sources as diverse as folk, pop, rock, classical, jazz, and bluegrass.


The Wild Places is the eleventh album by American singer/songwriter Dan Fogelberg, released in 1990.
Known for his many relationship songs, he confessed that he hadn’t had a lot of relationships and wrote his songs based on his observations of other people’s relationships. The Wild Places, an album whose theme was the preservation of nature, was released in 1990 followed by a tour.

Dan Fogelberg managed to retain listeners’ attention even after nearly 20 years of music-making. The Wild Places is a calm collection of originals and wisely chosen covers. Bruce Cockburn‘s “Lovers in a Dangerous Time” is done Fogelberg style, with Dan playing all the instruments himself. The old Cascades hit “Rhythm of the Rain” has a dreamy style applied to it, and Fogelberg adds a portion of the Beatles‘ “Rain” as well. Originals “The Spirit Trail” and the title cut are more solid efforts from Fogelberg‘s pen. Pastoral, if a bit laid-back, The Wild Places showed that Dan Fogelberg could still shine in a mellow style that suited his material well.


  1. “Aurora Nova” – 1:37
  2. “The Wild Places” – 4:44
  3. “Forefathers” – 4:56
  4. “Song of the Sea” – 5:38
  5. “Anastasia’s Eyes” – 3:58
  6. “Blind to the Truth” – 6:17
  7. Lovers in a Dangerous Time” (Bruce Cockburn)– 4:50
  8. Rhythm of the Rain” (John Gummoe)  – 4:24
  9. “Bones in the Sky” – 3:52
  10. “The Spirit Trail” – 5:59
  11. “Ever On” – 5:49
  • “(Rhythm of the rain” includes uncredited interpolation of “Rain” (Lennon/McCartney) )

All songs written by Dan Fogelberg except as indicated


  • Lenny Castro – percussion, conga, timbales
  • David Crosby – backing vocals, harmony vocals
  • Amy Dakos – illustrations, cover design
  • Mike Finniganorgan
  • Dan Fogelberg – synthesizer, acoustic guitar, bass, percussion, piano, drums, electric guitar, rhythm guitar, keyboards, electric piano, vocals, slide guitar, classical guitar, woodwind
  • Al Garth – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Bob Glaubbass guitar, fretless bass
  • George Hawkins – bass
  • Heart Attack Horns – horns, group vocals
  • Jerry Hey – trumpet
  • Amy Kakos – cover design
  • Russ Kunkel – percussion, drums
  • Michael Landau – electric guitar
  • Sara K. – background vocals
  • Timothy B. Schmit – background vocals, harmony vocals
  • Julia Waters – backing vocals, harmony vocals
  • Maxine Waters – backing vocals, harmony vocals
  • Oren Waters – backing vocals, harmony vocals


  • Producer: Dan Fogelberg
  • Engineers: Dan Fogelberg, Marty Lewis, Dave Reynolds, Duane Scott
  • Mixing: Dan Fogelberg, Marty Lewis
  • Mixing assistants: Mike Kloster, Brett Swain
  • Mastering: Stephen Marcussen
  • Production coordination: Nina Avramides-Berducat, Charlie Fernandez
  • Drum programming: Dan Fogelberg
  • String arrangements: Dan Fogelberg
  • Art direction: Amy Dakos, Kosh Dakos
  • Design: Amy Dakos, Kosh Dakos
  • Cover illustration: Amy Dakos
  • Photography: Andy Katz, Anastasia Savage


Released: 1990
Genre: Rock,
Style: Soft Rock
Length: 52:04

Label – Full Moon Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s