Grateful Dead – Dave’s Picks Volume 7, Horton Field House, Illinois State, Normal, Il (2013)

The Grateful Dead was an American rock band formed in 1965 in Palo Alto, California. Ranging from quintet to septet, the band is known for its unique and eclectic style, which fused elements of country, folk, bluegrass, blues, reggae, rock, improvisational jazz, psychedelia, and space rock, for live performances of lengthy instrumental jams, and for their devoted fan base, known as “Deadheads“.


Dave’s Picks Volume 7 is a three-CD live album by the rock band the Grateful Dead. It contains the complete concert from April 24, 1978, at the Horton Field House, Illinois State University, in Normal, Illinois. It was produced as a limited edition of 13,000 numbered copies, and was released on August 1, 2013.

Ending the first leg of their 1978 spring tour, the Grateful Dead pulled into the relatively tiny town of Normal, Illinois in late April of 1978 to deliver one of their legendarily epic concert experiences. Dave’s Picks, the archive series that picks up where the seemingly inexhaustible Dick’s Picks left off, captures the performance in total of over two hours of recordings. The band is in an especially playful mood on this date, dropping quotes from the Bee Gees “Stayin’ Alive” (this was the height of the disco era, after all), and indulging in a celebratory percussion interlude in the form of a 14-plus-minute “Rhythm Devils” interlude. They also offer up jammed-out versions of classic Dead live staples like “The Music Never Stopped” and Warren Zevon‘s “Werewolves of London.”


Disc 1
First set:
  1. Promised Land” (Chuck Berry) – 5:14
  2. “Ramble On Rose” (Jerry Garcia, Robert Hunter) – 8:07
  3. Me and My Uncle” > (John Phillips) – 3:10
  4. Big River” (Johnny Cash) – 6:21
  5. Friend of the Devil” (Garcia, Hunter) – 9:33
  6. Cassidy” (Bob Weir, John Perry Barlow) – 5:38
  7. “Brown-Eyed Women” (Garcia, Hunter) – 5:57
  8. “Passenger” (Phil Lesh, Peter Monk) – 5:45
  9. “It Must Have Been the Roses” (Garcia, Hunter) – 8:07
  10. “The Music Never Stopped” (Weir, Barlow) – 8:51
Disc 2
Second set:
  1. Scarlet Begonias” > (Garcia, Hunter) – 12:55
  2. Fire on the Mountain” > (Mickey Hart, Hunter) – 11:08
  3. Good Lovin’” (Rudy Clark, Arthur Resnick) – 7:06
Disc 3
  1. “Terrapin Station” > (Garcia, Hunter) – 10:51
  2. “Rhythm Devils” > (Hart, Bill Kreutzmann) – 13:53
  3. “Space” > (Garcia, Keith Godchaux, Lesh, Weir) – 6:41
  4. Not Fade Away” > (Buddy Holly, Norman Petty) – 11:19
  5. “Black Peter” > (Garcia, Hunter) – 11:47
  6. Around and Around” (Berry) – 9:11
  1. Werewolves of London” (LeRoy Marinell, Waddy Wachtel, Warren Zevon) – 7:46
Grateful Dead
  • Produced by Grateful Dead
  • Produced for release by David Lemieux
  • CD mastering: Jeffrey Norman
  • Cover art: Timothy Truman
  • Recorded by Betty Cantor-Jackson
  • Tape research: Michael Wesley Johnson


Released:  August 1, 2013
Recorded:  April 24, 1978, Venue Horton Fieldhouse, Normal, Illinois
Genre:  Rock
Style:  Psychedelic Rock, Folk Rock
Length: 169:21

Label – Rhino Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s