The Joe Perry Project – Once A Rocker, Always A Rocker (1983)

The Joe Perry Project is an American rock band formed by Aerosmith lead guitarist Joe Perry. Perry started working on forming the band shortly before his departure from Aerosmith in 1979.


Once a Rocker, Always a Rocker is an album by The Joe Perry Project, released in 1983 on MCA Records. Work on the album started in early 1982 with Aerosmith rhythm guitarist Brad Whitford. Demo versions of Black Velvet Pants, No Time For Women and the unreleased When Worlds Collide with Perry in February 1982. Drummer Ronnie Stewart was still with The Joe Perry Project for the February and November recording sessions.

The third and final release from the Joe Perry Project, 1983’s Once a Rocker, Always a Rocker, was a completely blah and uninspired work. It featured a whole new backing band for Perry, the Project‘s third lead singer (a new frontman per album) Cowboy Mach Bell, as well bassist Danny Hargrove, and drummer Joe Pet. The new lineup couldn’t light a fire under Perry like the original Project could, and when you add a bunch of predictable compositions to the mix, you got the weakest Project release yet. Bell‘s vocals would have sounded perfectly in an early-’80s, glammed-up heavy metal band, but not alongside the raw and gritty rock & roll that usually accompanies Joe Perry. Judging form the band photos on the album, the group was trying desperately to fit in with the then-blossoming glam metal scene (poofed up hair, makeup, etc.). A few tracks will be appreciated by hardcore Perry fans, such as the album’s only video, “Black Velvet Pants,” plus the title track and select others. After the indifferent Once a Rocker, Always a Rocker, it was completely understandable why Perry ditched the Project and returned to his original compadres, Aerosmith, in 1984.


  1. “Once a Rocker, Always a Rocker” – 2:58  (Perry, Bell)
  2. “Black Velvet Pants” – 3:20  (Perry)
  3. “Women In Chains” – 4:05  (Brooks, Tipton, Deluca)
  4. “Four Guns West” – 4:28  (Perry, Bell)
  5. “Crossfire” – 5:43  (Perry, Bell)
  6. “Adrianna” – 3:20  (Perry, Bell)
  7. “King Of The Kings” – 4:02  (Perry, Bell)
  8. Bang A Gong” – 3:55  (Bolan)  – T. Rex cover
  9. “Walk With Me Sally” – 3:14  (Perry, Bell)
  10. “Never Wanna Stop” – 4:27  (Perry, Bell)

Companies, etc.



Released:  September 1983
Genre:  Rock
Style:  Rock & Roll, Classic Rock
Length:  38:12

Label – MCA Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s