The Gregg Allman Band – Just Before The Bullets Fly (1988)

Gregory LeNoir “Gregg” Allman (born December 8, 1947) is an American musician, singer and songwriter. He is best known for performing in the Allman Brothers Band.


I’m No Angel was such a success that Gregg Allman wasted no time delivering its follow-up, 1988’s Just Before the Bullets Fly. Essentially, the album is I’m No Angel, Pt. 2, with the same glossy mixes and straight-ahead rock & roll. This isn’t a bad thing, in theory, and the execution is solid. It’s just that the songs aren’t there. There are a couple of moments that work — namely, the opening punch of “Demons” and “Before the Bullets Fly” — but most of the tunes aren’t terribly memorable, and the ultra-slick production doesn’t help matters. Given this tepid effort, it’s little wonder that it took Allman nearly ten years to deliver a sequel.

If you’re an Allman Brothers fan, of course this will be a good addition to your collection. On the other hand, if you’re not a Brothers fan, this is still an excellent album to have. What’s the difference, you may ask. Well, first of all; the producer, Rodney Mills. The sound on this album is far clearer than most Brothers albums. Secondly, and no offence to Dickie Betts; Dan Toler (once a Brothers member) is doing such a terrific job of his guitar playing. All through the album, in fact. The music? Typical Gregg Allman blues with hints of funk (Thorn And A Wild Rose, Island).
This album was recorded just prior to the great Allman Brothers Band reunion that started in 1989, which has produced 5 suprisingly wonderful ABB albums. Although this album has some great songs on it, the majority of the music is overproduced – including synthesizers taking the place of real backup horns. Some of these songs he still plays with his current solo band (Slip Away, Before the Bullets Fly) and they have an honest, roots-type R&B sound to them when performed in concert nearly 10 years later. Too bad he didn’t record these songs that way.


  1. “Demons”  (Gregg Allman, Dan Toler, David Toler) – 3:28
  2. “Before the Bullets Fly”  (Warren Haynes, John Jaworowicz, Williams) – 3:41
  3. “Slip Away”  (William Armstrong, Marcus Daniel, Wilbur Terrell) – 4:31
  4. “Thorn and a Wild Rose”  (Tony Colton, Dan Toler, Bruce Waibel) – 4:14
  5. “Ocean Awash the Gunwale”  (Gregg Allman, Tony Colton, Dan Toler) – 4:53
  6. “Can’t Get Over You”  (Billy Burnette, David Malloy) – 3:28
  7. “Island”  (Gregg Allman, Tony Colton, Johnny Neel, Dan Toler) – 4:17
  8. “Fear of Falling”  (Gregg Allman, Tim Heding, Jeffrey Townsend) – 3:35
  9. “Night Games”  (Gregg Allman, Tony Colton, Dan Toler) – 3:53
  10. “Every Hungry Woman”  (Gregg Allman) – 4:33


  • Gregg Allman – Keyboards, Hammond Organ, Lead Vocals
  • Tim Heding – Keyboards, Background Vocals
  • Dan Toler – Guitar, Keyboards
  • David Frankie Toler – Drums
  • Chaz Trippy – Percussion
  • Bruce Waibel – Bass Guitar, Background Vocals

Other Credits


Released; July 12, 1988
Recorded At – Criteria Recording Studios
Mixed At – Cheshire Sound Studios
Mastered At – CBS Studios
Genre: Blues, Pop
Style: Blues Rock, Southern Rock
Length: 40:11

Label – Epic Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s