Jermaine Jackson – Feel The Fire (1977)

Jermaine La Juane Jackson (born December 11, 1954) is an American singer, bass guitarist, composer, and occasional film director. He is known for being a member of The Jackson 5.


Like Michael, Jermaine began a solo career while still a member of The Jackson 5, and had a hit with the 1972 Shep and the Limelites cover “Daddy’s Home”. When The Jackson 5 left Motown, Jermaine left the group and stayed at Motown.
Jackson is proficient on the electric guitar and is a talented bass guitar player. At an early age, he performed the parts of legendary bass player James Jamerson and others when the J5 performed live. Jermaine also composed and produced for other artists, such as Switch, and he produced and sang duets on Whitney Houston‘s debut album for Arista Records.

Feel the Fire is the fourth solo album by Jermaine Jackson, and his second post-Jackson 5 solo album. This is the first album for which Jackson did some producing and writing for himself. The album includes Tower of Power‘s horn section, and Stevie Wonder‘s ex-wife Syreeta. Its only single release was the Earth, Wind & Fire-inspired “You Need To Be Loved”, which has a saxophone solo by Lenny Pickett.


  1. “Feel the Fire (Burning From Me to You)”  (Jermaine Jackson, Michael McGloiry, Kathy Wakefield)  (4:36)
  2. “You Need to Be Loved”  (Jermaine Jackson, Michael McGloiry, Kathy Wakefield)  (5:52)
  3. “Strong Love”  (Greg Wright, Syreeta Wright (3:07)
  4. “Git Up and Dance”  (Jermaine Jackson, Michael McGloiry)  (3:10)
  5. “I Love You More”  (Michael McGloiry)  (3:31)
  6. “Happiness Is”  (Greg Wright, Karin Patterson)  (4:13)
  7. “Some Kind of Woman”  (Michael Smith, Eddie Holland, Jr., Brian Holland (4:04)
  8.  “Got to Get to You Girl”  (Jermaine Jackson)  (3:21)
  9. “Take Time”  (Michael McGloiry)  (3:43)


  • ArtworkCarl Overr
  • DesignJohn Van Hamersveld
  • Producer(s) – Jermaine Jackson, Michael McGloiry, Greg Wright, Michael L. Smith
  • Executive-ProducerBerry Gordy
  • Photography ByCharles Bush
  • Arrangers: Greg Adams, Greg Wright, Clay Drayton, Don Peake, Benjamin Wright, Gil Askey, H.B. Barnum and Greg Poree


Released:  1977
Mastered at Motown Recording Studios, Hollywood, California
Genre:  Funk / Soul
Style:  Soul, Disco
Length:  35:31

“This album is dedicated to Jai, born January 27, 1977”

Label – Motown Records

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s