Greg Laswell – Three Flights From Alto Nido (2008)

Greg Laswell (born April 26, 1974) is a musician, recording engineer, and producer from San Diego, California.


Three Flights from Alto Nido is the third studio album by San Diego, California-based singer-songwriter Greg Laswell. It was released through Vanguard Records on July 8, 2008.

Singer-songwriter Greg Laswell’s third album, THREE FLIGHTS FROM ALTO NIDO, continues the San Diego native’s taste for elegant, mature, and commercial pop music with echoes of Coldplay, Ron Sexsmith, and Aimee Mann. Largely based on his own acoustic guitar and piano, but incorporating banjo, harmonium, and other textures (the multi-instrumentalist Laswell plays nearly everything but the drums), these 11 songs include two tracks with haunting harmonies by singer-songwriter Molly Jenson. Highlights include first single “That It Moves,” which also appears as an acoustic demo at the album’s end.

The song “Comes and Goes (In Waves)” was featured in the promotional trailer and soundtrack for the HBO film Taking Chance in early 2009, as well as an episode of True Blood in October 2008. “How the Day Sounds” featured in an episode of 90210, “Sweet Dream” featured in an episode of Dollhouse and “And Then You” featured in an episode of Grey’s Anatomy in September 2008.


  1. “That It Moves” – 3:54
  2. “The One I Love” – 2:35
  3. “It’s Been a Year” – 3:12
  4. “Comes and Goes (In Waves)” – 4:13
  5. “How the Day Sounds” – 4:49
  6. “Sweet Dream” – 1:07
  7. “Days Go On” – 3:15
  8. “I’d Be Lying” – 4:45
  9. “Farewell” – 3:56
  10. “And Then You” – 3:29
  11. “Not Out” – 3:32
Bonus track
  1. “That It Moves” (GarageBand Demo) – 3:18

All songs written by Greg Laswell.


  • All songs written, recorded, and performed by Greg Laswell
  • Producer:  Greg Laswell
  • Recorded at Dog’s Bark Studio in Santa Ana, California, except “How the Day Sounds” and “Days Go On” recorded in Greg’s studio in San Diego
  • Greg Laswell – vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, harmonium, bass, melotron, bells, and organ
  • Brandon Walters – acoustic guitars, electric guitars, banjo
  • Molly Jenson – vocals on “Comes and Goes (In Waves)” and “Farewell”
  • Alec Little – upright bass (on “The One I Love”), electric bass (on “That It Moves,” “Comes and Goes (In Waves),” and “I’d Be Lying”)


Released:  July 8, 2008
Recorded:  Dog’s Bark Studio, Santa Ana; Greg’s studio, San Diego
Genre:  Singer-songwriter, Indie rock
Length:  42:05

Label – Vanguard Records

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s