The Roots – How I Get Over (2010)

he Roots are an American hip hop/neo soul band, formed in 1987 by Tariq “Black Thought” Trotter and Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States. The Roots are known for a jazzy and eclectic approach to hip-hop featuring live musical instruments. Malik B., Leonard “Hub” Hubbard, and Josh Abrams were added to the band (formerly named “The Square Roots”).


How I Got Over is the ninth studio album by American hip hop band The Roots, released June 22, 2010 on Def Jam Recordings. It was produced primarily by band members Black Thought, Questlove, Dice Raw, and Rick Friedrich. The album has a subtle, somber sound and features lyrics concerning themes of existentialism, perseverance, and modern society. A hip hop album, its music also draws on indie rock, soul, funk, gospel, and neo soul styles.

From the tracks initially expected to make the album, only ‘The Day’, ‘Walk Alone’ and the title song ‘How I Got Over’ made the final track listing. Similar to the previous The Roots full-length, 2008’s Rising Down the album features a wide array of guest singers and rappers. John Legend appears on the single ‘The Fire’ and alternative rock group Monsters of Folk help The Roots remake their own song, ‘Dear God’ into an updated ‘…2.0’ version which was released as the most promoted single. The album also feature a track that samples Joanna Newsom‘s “Book of Right-On,” a track featured on her 2004 release The Milk-Eyed Mender, as well as new overdubs for the track, The Roots’ version appears under the title ‘Right On’ here.

The album was expected to have political content relating to the presidencies of George W. Bush and Barack Obama. On June 23, 2009, Billboard reported: “Among the tracks expected to make the cut are ‘Walk Alone,’ the vintage R&B-leaning ‘Make a Move,’ ‘The Day’ featuring Icelandic vocalist Patty Crash and a cover of Frank Zappa’s instrumental classic ‘Peaches en Regalia.’ ‘How I Got Over’ is also expected to include a version of Cody Chesnutt‘s ‘Serve This Royalty;’ the singer-songwriter rose to fame in 2002 when the Roots re-recorded his song ‘The Seed’ for their album Phrenology“.



01.  “A Peace Of Light”  (Featuring – Amber Coffman, Angel Deradoorian, Haley Dekle)  – 1:50
02.  “Walk Alone”  (Featuring – Dice Raw, P.O.R.N., Truck North)  – 3:55
03.  “Dear God 2.0”  (Featuring – Monsters Of Folk)  – 3:52
04.  “Radio Daze”  (Featuring – Blu (2), Dice Raw, P.O.R.N.)  – 4:16
05.  “Now Or Never”  (Featuring – Dice Raw, Phonte)  – 4:34
06.  “How I Got Over”  (Featuring – Dice Raw)  – 3:34
07.  “Dillatude: The Flight Of Titus”  – 0:42
08.  “The Day”  (Featuring – Blu , Patty Crash, Phonte)  – 3:44
09.  “Right On”  (Featuring – Joanna Newsom, STS)  – 3:36
10.  “Doin’ It Again”  – 2:24
11.  “The Fire”  (Featuring – John Legend)  – 3:41
12.  “Tunnel Vision”  – 0:41
13.  “Web 20/20”  (Featuring – Peedi Peedi, Truck North)  – 2:46
14.  “Hustla”  (Featuring – STS)  – 2:56



Released: June 22, 2010
Recorded: A House Called Quest, Fruity Loops, The Boom Room, The Studio; Philadelphia MSR Studios, New York City
Genre: Hip hop
Style: Conscious
Length: 42:25

Label – Def Jam Recordings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s