Goo Goo Dolls – What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art & Commerce (2001)

The Goo Goo Dolls are an American rock band formed in 1986 in Buffalo, New York, by vocalist and guitarist John Rzeznik, vocalist and bassist Robby Takac, and drummer George Tutuska. Mike Malinin was the band’s drummer.

goo goo dolls

What I Learned About Ego, Opinion, Art & Commerce (often referred to simply as EOAC) is a compilation album by American rock band Goo Goo Dolls. It was released in 2001 by Warner Bros. Records and is a compilation of Goo Goo Dolls songs released from 1987–2000.

It’s hard to discern what exactly the purpose of Ego, Opinion, Art & Commerce is. It’s a compilation, boasting remixes and remastered tracks, but it misses all of the Goo Goo Dolls‘ biggest hits. So, the best guess for its reason to be is to provide latter-day fans with a basic idea of what the Goos were about before “Iris” and “Name” — and, if that’s the case, its release in 2001 is a little puzzling, since it’s been years since they’ve broken through into the mainstream. In any case, this isn’t a bad disc at all, since it does cherry-pick the Goos‘ albums rather gracefully, balancing almost-hits like “We Are the Normal” with a good selection of album tracks. Still, the audience for this must be pretty small — not the hardcore fans, since they already have all this, but fans of the early stuff won’t need it, nor will the really casual fans, who just want the hits, since they’re not here. So, it’s for the listener that either wants an overview of the early years — and it’s good at that — or for the listener that has “Name” and “Iris” and wants to dig deeper, without getting the actual albums. Small audiences in both respects, but for those that belong to that audience, it’s a good bet.

Tracks 1–4 are from the album Dizzy Up the Girl. Tracks 5–9 are from the album A Boy Named Goo. Tracks 10–16 are from the album Superstar Car Wash. Tracks 17–20 are from the album Hold Me Up. Track 21 is from the album Jed. Track 22 is from the album Goo Goo Dolls. Multiple songs, such as “Acoustic #3” and “All Eyes On Me”, have an extended musical interlude. “Two Days In February” was re-recorded by Rzeznik, a studio version of the original, which was recorded outside. “Naked” is an extended version of the original, which was on A Boy Named Goo, and is similar to the version released as a single. All songs are remixed and remastered.



1. “Bullet Proof”  – 4:37
2. “All Eyes On Me”  – 4:04
3. “Amigone”  – 3:15
4. “Acoustic #3”  – 1:53
5. “Naked” –  4:05
6. “Ain’t That Unusual”  – 3:19
7. “Burnin’ Up”  – 2:32
8. “Flat Top”  – 4:29
9. “Eyes Wide Open” (“Name” is in this spot on the UK version) – 3:55
10. “Fallin’ Down”  – 3:14
11. “Another Second Time Around”  – 3:00
12. “Cuz You’re Gone”  – 3:33
13. “We Are The Normal”  – 3:36
14. “Girl Right Next To Me”  – 3:44
15. “Lucky Star” – 3:06
16. “On The Lie”  – 3:16
17. “Just The Way You Are”  – 3:14
18. “Two Days In February” (Re-recorded in 2000) – 3:12
19. “Laughing”  – 3:41
20. “There You Are”  – 3:05
21. “Up Yours”  – 1:37
22. “I’m Addicted”  – 2:59


Mixed By – Armand John Petri, Gavin MacKillop, Jack Joseph Puig, Lou Giordano
Producer – Armand John Petri, Gavin MacKillop, Lou Giordano, Rob Cavallo
Remix – Chris Lord-Alge


Released: July 17, 2001
Recorded: 1987–2000
Genre:  Alternative rock
Style:  Emo, Pop Rock
Length:  78:36

Label – Warner Bros. Records

About Record Facts
Music Collector

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s