Tucker Zimmerman ‎– Ten Songs (1969) 2015 Expanded Edition

Tucker Zimmerman (born February 14, 1941, San Francisco California), is a folk singer/songwriter.


Though American, singer/songwriter Tucker Zimmerman was based in England at the time he recorded this debut LP in the late 1960s. Despite a mightily impressive support cast, it’s rather awkward folk-rock that’s reminiscent of some similarly tentative efforts by New York folkies of the mid-’60s to get into a more contemporary, mildly electrified bag. Though all of Zimmerman‘s accompanists were major musicians — Rick Wakeman (organ), Shawn Phillips (sitar, electric guitar), Aynsley Dunbar (drums), and fellow American expatriate Tony Visconti (bass, six-string Spanish guitar), the last of whom also produced — it feels like they’re holding back, whether under instructions or because they’re not wholly at ease with the material. Zimmerman has a declarative, tail-end-of-the-folk-troubadour-era vocal and compositional style that might bring to mind minor American artists of the era like Jake Holmes and Patrick Sky. Some of the more theatrical songs sound a little like the most Kurt Weill-esque material Judy Collins recorded in her Baroque folk-rock phase. Others (especially “Alpha Centauri” and “October Mornings,” the latter of which is decorated by some nice Mellotron touches) are in the rough vicinity of early Tim Buckley-like haunting earnestness; and “A Face That Hasn’t Sold Out” and “Bird Lives,” uncharacteristically (for this album at least), see him try his hand at all-out ballsy blues-folk-rock. He’s not close to being in the same artistic league as Collins or Buckley, though, and his songs, though wordy and ambitious, aren’t all that articulate, falling into inchoate rage in “Children of Fear.”



01.  Bird Lives  – 3:56
02.  October Mornings  – 3:37
03.  A Face That Hasn’t Sold Out  – 4:33
04.  The Roadrunner  – 5:42
05.  Children Of Fear  – 4:55
06.  The Wind Returns Into The Night  – 5:35
07.  Running, Running From Moment To Moment  – 2:55
08.  Upsidedown Circus World  – 3:26
09.  Blue Goose  – 6:28
10.  Alpha Centauri  – 5:44

Bonus Tracks 2015
11.  The Red Wind  – 3:35
12.  Moondog  – 5:17
13.  La Rinascente  – 2:50
14.  Non C’e Niente Mai  – 3:33
15.  En Memoire De Jean Genet  – 3:45
16.  Les Visions De Rimbaud  – 3:43
17.  The Red Wind  – 3:38

All songs written by Tucker Zimmerman

Companies, etc.


  • BassTony Visconti
  • ProducerTony Visconti
  • Vocals, GuitarTucker Zimmerman
  • Aynsley Dunbar – Drums
  • Shawn Phillips – Guitar, Sitar
  • Rick Wakeman – Organ, Piano
  • Rick Fataar – Drums, Percussion
  • Terry Cox – Drums, Congas
  • Marie Claire – Vocals


Tracks 1 to 10 released on Regal Zonophone LP SLRZ 1010, 1969.
Released:  2015
Genre:  Folk, World, & Country
Style:  Acoustic, Folk
Length:  1:13:13

Label – RPM retrodisc

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s